On The Previous Evening — A 240-Characters ZapFic Story

I have one job in the morning, one simple task, but thousands depend on it.

I have to get up at 06:00 AM, take a subway train, get above ground, walk exactly one hundred and two steps, and unlock the University gate so the exams could begin on time.

But the wine and the woman in the here and now...




Greetings, Hive!

This is my new entry for the weekly ZapFic challenge by @felt.buzz. The prompt this week is Fail.

You didn't know what the #zapfic was? Oh, it has been here since...ever? Hardly ever but I remember it being here since there was here and I remember it being there since I first found @felt.buzz on the blockchain.

And this has been the ongoing idea of challenging people to write extra-short stories within the limits of a Tweet or what has been its equivalent on the blockchain.

I don't know if a Tweet is still limited to 240 characters but a Zap (yeah, that is what I am going to call it) is. I am personally counting characters without spaces for my pieces and I usually work until I get the story to exactly 240 characters. Even though I think it is allowed to go below 240. Not that fun if you don't follow the proverbial letter literally to the letter, right?

In general, writing a good story within certain limits is difficult. But it is also fun, as I mentioned. Especially when you get used to it. Short is refreshing. Concentrated. Leaving a lot to imagination.

And this "leaving a lot to imagination" part is what my favorite kind of art is about. Be it in a piece of written fiction, in music, in painting or in photography. You might know the phrase that says that a picture is worth a thousand words. It was originally meant for photographs in newspapers, adding to the stories. You rarely see articles without photographs to them nowadays. Not in most newspapers.

But ZapFic challenges you to go even further.

Try and make a few words worth a thousand words each!

Follow the link for more!




Wine_Evening_N_s.jpg
Both the wine and the photograph were taken before a certain special day. I did not fail at that time.


Aperture F 2.8; Shutter Speed 1/200 sec.; ISO 200; Focal Length 24 mm.





Good luck and have fun!

Yours,

Manol


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency