Market Friday: Shopping in a Country Store

Astute readers who read my monochrome blog last week about the small town and the windmills will have seen the hint that there was a gigantic country store full of fun holiday decor and I was saving all those pictures for Market Friday. At last, it's Friday!

Before I share these, I just want to make sure you know about Market Friday. It's a very cool initiative hosted by the beautiful @dswigle, and it's all about stores, markets, places of commerce and basically anywhere money changes hands. If this is your first exposure, be sure to click the #marketfriday tag to see all the great posts for this tag!

A few friends and I visited this charming store. It was quite a drive, but well worth it. And it was a beautiful day for a drive out to the country. They had a whole notification system set up, via mobile phones, and you had to take a little key fob and turn it in when it was your turn to go in. They had it all arranged for safety and it was a top notch operation.

Let's start with the outside. There were many cute autumn decorations to entertain you while you wait. And of course most of them were for sale!

IMG_9719.JPG

IMG_9718.JPG

I am a person who loves fall decor, so this was challenging for me. I hadn't even gone into the store, and I found so many things I wanted to buy! (But I was very good! I really don't need more stuff!)

IMG_9714.JPG

IMG_9715.JPG

Okay, let's go inside. This will knock your socks off.

IMG_9726.JPG

IMG_9727.JPG

Every single display was so charming!

IMG_9728.JPG

IMG_9729.JPG

Whoever did all this window dressing was an absolute genius with window dressing and country decor, making every shelf and display look delightful and well-balanced.

IMG_9730.JPG

IMG_9731.JPG

Many of the displays were also color coordinated - like some in sepia tones, some in monotones, and of course many in colors of the season.

IMG_9732.JPG

IMG_9733.JPG

IMG_9734.JPG

Can you believe the amount of stuff that was in this store? I loved the little luminaries! I may try to make some for gifts. (Shh! I was kind of stealing ideas.)

IMG_9735.JPG

IMG_9736.JPG

We wound our way through the store, following the line of people. It was well-designed for keeping the crowd moving along past every display on the way to the exit! Eventually we found Christmas.

IMG_9737.JPG

IMG_9738.JPG

I have to admit, even though I absolutely love fall color, I was quite charmed by the displays with lots of white, creating the look of a snowy winter scene.

IMG_9739.JPG

IMG_9740.JPG

IMG_9741.JPG

I took so many pictures, I'm sure they wondered if I was casing the joint!

IMG_9742.JPG

IMG_9744.JPG

If you're thinking, "Does it ever end??" I'm with you. I was wondering the same thing.

IMG_9746.JPG

IMG_9747.JPG

IMG_9749.JPG

You'd think I spent a fortune in this place, wouldn't you?? You'll never guess.

IMG_9750.JPG

IMG_9751.JPG

IMG_9752.JPG

Well I didn't spend a fortune, for two reasons! One is that it was all a bit expensive for my taste, and the other is that I kind of felt like I needed to buy a whole display to get the "look" they had created. And I wasn't about to do that!

IMG_9753.JPG

IMG_9755.JPG

IMG_9756.JPG

IMG_9757.JPG

At the end of ALL that, I only chose two small things. One was some tiny cat tails which I will add to my display of autumn silk flowers. The other is a little jar of pesto aioli from this cute little shop at the very end of the line:

IMG_9758.JPG

IMG_9759.JPG

Thank you for taking a walk with me through a country store! I hope you're inspired to put out your fall decor!

(Ha ha, that rhymes.)

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

Then join cool communities! Here are just a few examples:

Copy_of_Copy_of_join_us_.png

The Ink well Logosm.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency