Lifestyle Lounge Blog Inspirations- Week 9- Unwind Time

While there are quite a few choices for this week's inspiration posts, I chose to start with the "Unwind Time" topic first. Why? Because this one not only spoke to me, but it also made me think of what is the number one way I decompress after a long day. Granted not every day is the same, nor does every day rely upon the same way to rest and relax, but there is one specific way I veer towards when needed to repose and regenerate myself.

I'll start with my number one way, and then include two more; for a top three list of how I unwind on a daily basis.


thought-catalog-OJZB0VUQKKc-unsplash.jpg

Image Source- Unsplash- Thought Catalog

  • 1. Reading

Spending most days writing, you would think that "seeing" more words would be something to avoid. But that's just not the case for me. Ever since I can remember (way back to elementary/primary school age), I have always been a reader. Even in high school, I would stop at the public library every Saturday on my way to my part-time job at a pharmacy to look for new books and to return the numerous books I had checked out the prior weekend. Instead of "going out" with friends on a Friday or Saturday night, you would find me in my childhood bedroom with my nose buried in a book while the local rock radio station boomed out Journey, Def Leppard or some other 80s hair band song.

I wasn't what one would call popular in school; but I did have my close friends. I was more of what you would call a "wall flower" at that age; never wanting to be center of attention, never dating the football QB or even being invited to the social event party of the year. Which was fine with me. My books were waiting for me. It's kind of funny when you think about it. When I was 16 and got my driver's license I now could drive myself to the library instead of asking my mom to do it every weekend. When most teenagers were driving to parties or gatherings, I was racing down the street to get to the library for the newest released books. Does that make me a nerd?

There's just something about getting lost in a book with the characters that always made me happy.

Even when my three children were still young, we would go to the same public library I spent endless hours at as a kid myself. I got each of my kids their own library card as soon as they were old enough. To this day, both my daughters LOVE to read. My son? Not so much. He's more of a hands on person.

I will sit down after the kitchen is cleaned up after dinner, and as my husband searches online for whatever has sparked his interest for the day, I will open up my tablet and start reading from my enormous Kindle Unlimited selection of books. My genre range is just as LARGE as the number of books I have in my Kindle Library.

My Kindle app is filled with historical romance, gardening, homesteading, certain sci-fi (SHTF, colonization genres) and some other non-fiction. The knowledge gained from reading over the last four decades has allowed me to expand my views, opinions and it's always a good thing to keep learning, right?

I'll sit for about an hour before we head off the bed, reading a chapter or two. Not only does this help my brain to slow down after the busy day, but I still LOVE to get lost in the storyline. I know screen time can be hard for people as bedtime gets closer, but I view this as reading... not screen time.

Oh don't get me wrong, I still have real books on hands too. Our library has been doing door delivery since the pandemic started one year ago and I usually have books being delivered or picked up every two weeks.

Reading, for me, is one of the greatest gifts I have in my life (aside from family). I can get lost in the book, feel empathy for the characters and they always say, "the best readers make the best writers". So it's a win-win for me.

  • 2. Kitchen Time

Oh whatcha got cooking there? Being in my homestead kitchen, whether fixing dinner, preparing a big weekend breakfast or making a new salve or lotion, has become a HUGE decompression activity for me. Dehydrating my herbs for infused oils or making my own deodorant, or making some kind of cannabis-infused goodie brigs me such joy. Especially when my husband gives me raving reviews!


avc1.jpg

Being able to create some kind of culinary treat or medicinal concoction not only makes me feel accomplished, but also quite happy.

  • 3. Listening To Podcasts

This is an activity that not only helps me unwind and make haste of chores, but it also adds to my knowledge. I like to listen to podcasts where I don't have to actually watch what is happening on the screen (like YouTube). I watch YT or Bitchute mainly for gardening, cooking and recipes and for fun. But podcasts are usually about current events, news or other brain building topics. I can listen to the host and his or her guests while I am cleaning and on the move. Just stick my Bluetooth pod in my ear and I am mobile. Nothing like scrubbing a toilet while you listen that the world is going to crap, right? Every pun intended.

So that's it. Those are my three favorite activities to do to unwind during the day or evening.

  • For all the information on this Lifestyle Lounge's inspiration posts Week 9, see here


LL Mends banner.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency