🎵 Hive Open Mic Week 23 - “Energy Knows” (Original Song)

Hive Open Mic ( #openmic ) is a global community of music lovers, for music fans and musicians. Each week is a live music invitation for expression and connection.


HiveOpenMic23CabeLindsay02.jpg

Just in time for this week's “Spirit” invitation, I find myself wondering what Spirit means to me, potentially discovering a new definition. In fact, we asked this question in our homeschool group: “What does 'Spirit' mean to you?” We heard a lot of different answers, and each one was essentially right, because this term holds infinite interpretations.

Spirit might be summed up as “Soul,” “Emotion,” “Willpower,” or “Energy,” and all these answers are correct in some respects. On one level, I think “Spirit” refers to the invisible, nonphysical form of a person's existence. Human spirit is also the higher/heavenly aspect of a person's non-material life. Great Spirit is a name given to a Creator, a God, and a collective consciousness.

Inspiration is the awakening of the mind and heart, called to express creatively. Spirituality is the awakening of the human consciousness, called to study spirit or soul, as opposed to material or physical things. These activities are rooted in “Spirit,” a mysterious word that holds different meaning to everybody, I imagine.


Energy Knows

A song about leaning into the flow of energy

For me, in this moment, I interpret “Spirit” as an energetic current that moves through people, plants, elements, space... including and affecting everything and everyone at once. The way we are affected by this energy changes moment by moment. To me, it may feel like a flow, a ripple, a quiver, a pulse, a touch, a hint, a chime, a whisper, a divine melody, a thunderclap...

I love the idea that energy knows where to go. Energy moves in me through my feeling, thinking, and willing. When I am balanced in my thoughts, words, and actions, I find myself having some mastery over the energetic movement, allowing me to work and shift with grace. Other times, when I might be distracted or distorted or dissonant with the energy, I might wobble.

Energy moves with or without my awareness, and I believe this movement is associated with Spirit. As I understand it, everything happens for a reason, and that means every single energetic impulse is potentially expansive, if we bring conscious awareness to it. My awareness in this moment is focused on observing the flow of energy with a soft gaze, ready to shift, prepared to firm myself through the movements.


Lyrics

Fire inside
Drives us outside
Showing corridors
Through the unknown

Energy knows
Where to go
We follow the Holy Ghost
Who shows us so

Into the woods
We go walking
Night owl asking who
Crickets talking too

Energy knows...

Fire inside
Leads us to look for
Ideals we lean toward
Ideas radical

Energy knows...

Into the smoke
Asking allies
Join us creating
This wonderful life

Energy knows...

HiveOpenMic23C.png


Acknowledgements

HiveOpenMic23B.png

Hive Open Mic - Week 23 is underway right now, with the current theme: "Spirit." There is still time to jump in and enjoy! Late entries are always accepted in our pressure-free event. Look and listen for this week's highlights to be released on Tuesday.

🌞 🌜 🌟 ✨

Enjoy Live Music - Subscribe to Hive Open Mic.

🦢 🕊️ 🌿 🌸


Bio

HiveOpenMic23CabeLindsay01.jpg

I'm Cabe Lindsay, a high-flying star child making music with Butterflies and movies with ARISE. Publications include films: Voices of the Grandmothers, Wild Family... books: Brave Spirit, Be Well Bee, WYLD, Big Idea Patterns... and songs: Brave Spirit, Home, Colors Flying... More importantly, I'm a rad daddy, trailblazing with my family of five, delighted to thrive on Hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency