A Wednesday Walk In The Garden with Molly

A Wednesday Walk.png

It's Wednesday!! ..

Hump Day and a great day for a walk in the garden. Well not much of a garden anymore. Fall is here and the summer was brutal for most peoples gardens in the surrounding area. Now if I can just get Molly up and moving. She has been content lately, to be snuggled down in the bunk bed, where Pepper would spend most of his hours waiting on me to do something. As if blogging about stuff isn't enough for these dogs! Let's GO Molly!

Half asleep in this shot..

IMG_8067.JPG

That's better, awake and alert, curious of the outdoors but not really sure she wants to go out there.

IMG_E8069.JPG

I eventually persuade her to follow me down the stairs and outside for a bit of a stroll. We head over to the garden.. teeming with life! ummmm.. oaky, maybe not so much life. We were very late at tending to ours so this year ours was empty. That doesn't mean that 'Nothing' was happening in the garden. Nope, the worms were busy decomposing all the goodies from last year.

IMG_8039.JPG

What is that there on the end of one of those beds?? We have a late growing Tomato plant! It came up from seed. I had a tomato plant in that exact spot last year, so some of the seeds survived and sprouted. I decided not to remove it and wanted to let it grow. Who knows.. we may actually get a tomato or two out of it unless the frost hits soon. We usually don't see our first frost until mid to late October.

IMG_8051.JPG

It's not a bad looking plant and it even has a few decent sized tomatoes forming off it's limbs. I have been trimming some of the branches back so I can mow around the plant more easily. The branches I removed didn't have any signs of fruit. I'll move in for a closer shot.

IMG_8052.JPG

Not too bad. Maybe in another 10 days or so they will begin turning color to a nice shade of red. I would usually stake up the plant, but didn't really give it much thought to do this, because I didn't expect the plant to live or even produce any fruit. I am afraid to do it now in fear of snapping the fragile limbs. It will be just fine sitting there on the ground. I don't plan on getting that much fruit off of it this late in the season.

There's a decent sized tomato!

IMG_8053.JPG

Where did Molly go as I was consumed taking pictures of this tomato plant for my blog? There she is!! She is sitting and staring over top of the strawberry plants. Pepper was always into something and very photogenic. Molly is quite the opposite. She likes sitting in one spot to ensure she can run if something moves in her direction to quickly. She is also afraid of everything in the garden, whether it is a vegetable, a worm, or the occasional leaf blowing through to the other side. If it moves then it should be feared! haha.. silly Molly.

IMG_8046.JPG

IMG_8047.JPG

She has the tendency to look away when you want to capture that special moment. I have a lot of pictures of her looking away or down at the ground. She would rather do anything but look at the camera. Sometimes and every so often we get lucky.

IMG_8048.JPG

She's really thinking "leave me the heck alone you foolish man." I just can't because she's so stinking cute. I have no problem filling up my phone with these pictures of the side of her face.

IMG_8049.JPG

Here she sits and stares at the strawberries doing there autumn thing. Oh wait! She may be on to something!! What are those strawberries up to??

IMG_8050.JPG

Looks like they are shooting out 'Runners' (new plants). This time of the year, just before the growing season comes to an end and when the weather is nice and chilly, the plants start to reproduce. They do this by sending out what I call runners. If I have the time, I would like to replant or relocate a few of them to the end of this bed. As you can see, the bed is half full of plants. I want the entire bed full of strawberries, so I may have a chore for this Saturday. It will be the perfect fall job.

This is a pretty good example of the 'runner'. One can see where the plant grows a stem and then a new plant forms on it. The stem will pass nutrients to the new plant (like an umbilical cord) until the plant is strong enough, and has a working root system, to support itself.

IMG_8041.JPG

Tiny roots start to form at the base of the new plant and slowly grow into the earthy soil.

IMG_8042.JPG

This little plant has a nice root system forming and may be a good candidate for transplant. You can see how the stem is already turning brown, because the new plant no longer needs nutrients from the mother plant. It appears ready to be clipped and moved.

IMG_8043.JPG

This Saturday, besides transplanting strawberries, I need to start winterizing some of the other plants around the yard. Not all of them, but some. I started the other day trimming a little, and now need to carry the piles to the curb for city pick-up.

IMG_2942 2.jpg

The Liriope planted at the front of the house, near our walk, is in full bloom. I won't trim them back until very early spring or very late in the fall. They will eventually looses the beautiful purple flowers and turn a dingy greenish brown color. Knowing me, I will wait till the spring to trim them up.

IMG_2941 2.jpg

I planted them throughout our landscaping. I divided and transplanted a few to other spots around the yard, including around the mailbox. You'll see that in the next few pictures. I like the purple flowers, but really like how they soften the edges of the beds. They may be getting too thick in this area. In the spring, I may be looking to moving a few of them elsewhere.

IMG_2940 2.jpg

Not much happening at the mailbox. Just a few purple Liriope flowers and a few bills. I'll send you the bills if you comment your address below :-)

IMG_2943 2.jpg

Another plant that will soon be hacked back is the clematis. Boy was it beautiful this year. We enjoyed many months of brilliant purple flowers and look forward to the same next year. It's nice to think that Spring is already on it's way. Yeah, we have to get through the winter, but spring is coming!

IMG_2944 2.jpg

Molly and I are tired of walking now, so we are going to take a small nap. Sounds perfect to me and she seems content in doing just that. See you all next time!! ZZZZzzzzzzzzz....

IMG_8033.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_3038.JPG

“Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo? It'll be spring soon. And the orchards will be in blossom. And the birds will be nesting in the hazel thicket. And they'll be sowing the summer barley in the lower fields... and eating the first of the strawberries with cream. Do you remember the taste of strawberries?”

― Sam Gamgee The Return of the King Peter Jackson from J R R Tolkien

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency