Two little Twinkles and friends

orchid yellow twinkle 3.jpg


I was a very good girl for the past year and didn't get any new orchids (I killed three but that I shall not talk about). This year though started with two new purchases.
And I had to.
I really had to!
I wanted to have little Oncidium Twinkle for a very long time, but I didn't want to order any from online nurseries (it never ends on one plant). They also do not normally appear in stationary flower shops and supermarkets - they do get some other orchids than Phalaenosis from time to time.

Until about 2 weeks ago. On a regular grocery shopping I stoppedd by the flower stand and look at that :D

Few tiny pots with tiny little Twinkles!

Now @fantagira or @ludmila.kyriakou please ensure me they are Twinkles, please. I have never seen them myself or had any. I was always relying on google photos.


orchid yellow twinkle 1.jpg


The flowers are super small, maybe 1 cm across, but oh do they smell amazing! This tiny little stem with few little flowers have some nice power.
This was another reason (besides being a miniature orchid and with a cascade of flowers) why I wanted one... or two :p

Just look how delicate the petals are.


orchid yellow twinkle 2.jpg


This one does worries me though. There were just a few pots with this colour and all of them were single bulb. This is just as stupid as it gets to sell a single bulb orchid. They do need multiple bulbs to stay strong and healthy, so some nursery is playing rather not funny tricks on the customers.
Yes, I still got one. And I will do my best to keep it alive.


orchid yellow twinkle 4.jpg


This is the whole plant.


orchid yellow twinkle 6.jpg

orchid yellow twinkle 5.jpg


The second one is this lovely cinnamon one. There are more colours available, but there were only the two.

The flowers have a little bit different shape an resamble more the Sharry Baby I also have.

orchid cinnamon twinkle 1.jpg

orchid cinnamon twinkle 2.jpg

orchid cinnamon twinkle 3.jpg


The plant is bigger, or so it seems. Few bulbs in a pot, but knowing how tricky some sellers are, they all might be separate ones, just planted together to look bushier. Hope not.

And only today as I was taking the photos I notices that the tip of the leaves were cut. That doesn't bother me much. They probably were dry or damaged. I do that too.


orchid cinnamon twinkle 4.jpg


And since I was taking photos of the two little girls, I took another two orchids that are currently in bloom.

Procatavola Golden Peacock is one of my all time faves. It blooms few times a year as soon as the new pseudobulb matures. Now that it is a lot bigger and has few directions of growth it keeps producing them = blooms pretty often.

I have shown in few times before and she deserves to be shown. Lovely non-problematic plant. Doesn't even gets bugs while others do :)



Procatavola Golden Peacock 2023 1.jpg

Procatavola Golden Peacock 2023 2.jpgProcatavola Golden Peacock 2023 3.jpg



And my tiny little Dendrobium kingianum var. Silcockii. Not many flowers for now, but I had to throw away most of the plant. It was nice an big already, but it was sick. I kept the part that dint show signs of dissease and I am growin it all over again.

At least I still have it. I really like the flower. They also smell like honey :)


Dendrobium kingianum var. Silcockii 2023 1.jpg

Dendrobium kingianum var. Silcockii 2023 2.jpg

Dendrobium kingianum var. Silcockii 2023 4.jpg

Dendrobium kingianum var. Silcockii 2023 3.jpg


An here is a group shot.
You can see how small the Twinkle and dendrobium flowers are :)

jan orchid bloom.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency