WHAT?! An Orchid Stamp!!! Oh Yeah ..

1 - 1622828224666.png

I Am The Official Owner Of An Orchid Stamp! ..

So it sounds glamorous, right? But I assure you it is not. So, as you already know (if you follow my blog) I have been sorting through a bunch of stuff we either inherited or I picked up along the journey of life. An accumulation of "Stuff" you could say. Not a hoarders amount, but non-the-less, enough junk for two people.

I was looking through another pile of stuff.. When I came across an envelope. It was folded into a nice little square and appeared to be holing some contents of some kind. I wasn't really sure what I was going to find in this folded envelope. So I carefully unfolded it and opened it up to see what was inside ...

IMG_0895.JPG

Oh Cool! A Bunch Of Old Stamps .. I carefully pulled out the loose and booked stamps from the old white envelope, placing them on the leather ottoman in our family room. I found the envelope in with a few other things I was sorting through. The funny thing is that I can not remember where this came from. We did inherit a bunch of items from a dear friend that passed away several years ago. Maybe this was hers. I am thinking it was.

IMG_0896.JPG

At first I didn't notice the Orchid Stamp .. As I was more interested in where they came from and their beauty as a collective. I am not a stamp collector .. PLEASE! DO NOT give me any reason to keep these. I have enough small collections of things. The whole purpose of going through things now, is to rid my life of the unnecessary clutter. hehe

IMG_0897.JPG

I can appreciate them, even though I am ready to part with them. No idea of their value, but I'll do a little light research and then list them on the go old auction site .. Unless someone here wants them in exchange for HIVE or HBD??? (Hehehee) Either way we will be parting ways soon enough.

Here's a closer look at a few of them ..

Eisenhower 8 cent stamps - looks like there is only one in that pack

IMG_0901.JPG

Korean War Veterans Memorial Stamps .. Kind of cool

IMG_0898.JPG

Ice Boat stamps, a few other USA themed stamps and a nice snowman seasonal stamp

IMG_0899.JPG

There are a few used stamps as well. Looks like an Independence Hall, George Washington, and Susan B Anthony stamp. Also looks like two eyes were stamped over them.. or doughnuts or bagels .. Whatever suits your fancy!

IMG_0900.JPG

Now For The Big STORY! ..

The Orchid stamp!!!! Sweet. It's really not all that exciting. I actually think the photo they used to create the stamp sucks. Mine are much better.. lol. It's not a clear crisp look, but rather a foggy matte look. I think it was meant to look that way, because every example of it I could find on the web, looked the same.

IMG_0903.JPG

There were a few other flowers .. Represented. Four to be exact. Looks like my set is missing one, and it will stay that way since I am not keeping these. Sorry, even though it's an orchid.

IMG_0902.JPG

I am not going to be collecting everything Orchid. Like I said, I am decluttering and eliminating those things that I do not enjoy, and replacing them with something I do.. Like Silver coins!
Hive text divider.png

Additional Information Related To The Stamp(s) ..

U.S. #3457b
2000 34¢ Lilies
Booklet Pane of 4

Issue Date: December 15, 2000
City: Washington, DC
Printed by: American Packaging Corporation for Sennett Security Products
Printing Method: Photogravure
Perforations: Serpentine Die Cut 10 ½ b 10 ¾
Color: Multicolored

1 - 9841759874576435643.jpg

The four flowers photographed on this mint booklet pane are Freesia, Cymbidium Orchid, Longiflorum Lily, and Asian Hybrid Lily. This was the first time photos of flowers were used instead of illustrations. These non-denominated 34¢ stamps were issued in self-adhesive format in anticipation of the 2001 first class rate increase. Stamps are on both sides of the booklet.

Source for above text and Photo

Hive text divider.png

A Very Short Orchid Update ..

All our Orchids are doing very well. My wife and I keep reiterating to one another how much we are enjoying those blooms. They really do lift our spirits and moods. It's nice having the color in the areas where we spend most of our time; the kitchen, breakfast table and family room.

This photo (below) was taken early this morning. The lighting sucked, so it looks sort of washed out. It's cloudy and raining this morning too, and that doesn't help. Maybe you are able to get the idea though.

Orchids = Color. Color = Happy. Happy = Smiles. We can't have enough smiles, can we?

IMG_0889.JPG

Here are our strong bloomers...

IMG_0892.JPG

IMG_0894.JPG

This gal here still has one bud left to open up. After it does, I am going to line them all up for a few artistic shots. You'll have to wait and see (unless they come out like crap).

IMG_0893.JPG

Pepper's Sympathy Orchid still blooming strongly. All the flowers look healthy and happy. I think of him every morning when I see this girl.

IMG_0905.JPG

One of the Orchids at the very end of the half wall or ledge, which has been blooming for what seems like 6 months, is just now showing signs of getting ready to drop flowers. It's about time though. These blooms have been on there FOREVER! I appreciated their persistence.

IMG_0891.JPG

Everything Has It's Time

There's A Time To Live

And A Time To Die

Okay, That way depressing :-/

Hive text divider.png

IMG_6684.JPG

“Normal people have rock collections, shell collections, key ring collections and stamp collections. (The Captain had even known somebody with a letterbox collection.) But a people collection? That had to be the most bizarre one he'd come across. Not to mention the most unethical.”
― Elizabeth Newton, The Sanctuary

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

I am happy to have made @peakd, @null, and @hive.fund beneficiaries to part of the proceeds of this post. If you haven't already, please consider giving back to those organizations and causes that you believe make a difference in your #HIVE experience.. you won't regret it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency