My Actual Last Fire

I Made a Fire that Burned for SIX DAYS!

If you’ve ever relied on a fire for cooking your dinner, or even just warmth, you probably know that awesome feeling of waking up to rekindle the embers, effortlessly building a solid fire in no time by throwing logs directly into the embers, skipping straight past kindling tinder and twigs. That’s all this was, it was just that the logs I had available were very large, and once started, could burn all day without intervention.

I’ve posted two fires now, claiming each one to be the last in my big fire pit - but this one, in all fairness, well…who could’ve predicted that a tree would fall on my house?

DAY 1

I didn’t think of logging this on day 1 honestly. I had already posted my “last fire” twice, so I just figured I’d burn this without talking about it at the time…but when I realized I’d be burning log chunks for multiple days in a single on-going fire, I just couldn’t let it happen quietly. So here’s a couple pictures of the tree I’m burning!

img_0796.heic

img_0813.jpg

DAY 2

My chainsaw is out of town, so I had to pay someone to cut it up for me, but when they were done I carried six sections down to make cool fireside chairs for the next family - but then I couldn’t resist the urge to try and burn the whole tree.

At the time of writing, this fire is going on its third day of continuous burning. Every morning I find it reduced to a few smoldering embers, but so far I’ve been able to stoke it back to flames with fresh logs and a leaf blower :)

img_1096.jpg

img_1095.jpg

img_1092.gif

DAY 3

The embers were still rolling this morning…

img_1124.jpg

…so I mixed things around a little and threw some more tree in there!

img_1125.jpg

I love watching g the ashes fall like snow, it just looks so magical :)

img_1127.gif

And of course, because throwing wood on the fire is so much fun, once I had that big chunk in there, I threw in some more!

img_1123.jpg

I went out a few times throughout the day to blow the ashes out with the leaf blower, to keep the fire from suffocating itself, but ultimately these logs lasted all day long. I did add one or two during the day, but mostly just let it roll.

Around 2:00 in the afternoon, I added a few more pieces to keep it moving along, and while I loaded more wood onto the fire, I let my new custom flute project heat up on the sidelines for a couple of hours.

img_1158.jpg

img_1166.jpg

DAY 4

I shuffled things around a bit last night, but didn’t take any pictures at the time. This morning, the embers remained and 80% of the wood was gone - NICE!

img_1173

I never took pictures of the full pile - I don’t think I really imagined I’d be able to get through it all, but now that it’s down to the end, I wish I had.

img_1174

Nothing new here, this morning I combined all the remaining embers and wood into the center of the pit and surrounded them with fresh stuff. It looks like I’ll add the last of the wood tonight or tomorrow morning.

img_1175

img_1176

img_1179

Getting closer now - this afternoon I brought in this rooted section…by far the heaviest piece I’ve moved in, and now there’s nothing left but the six pieces I used to make chairs.

img_1189

img_1194

img_1196

DAY 5

img_1207

img_1206

img_1208

img_1209

img_1210

…and just before I left for work, I consolidated one more time and threw in two more pieces. Almost there now.

Another reconsolidation after work:

img_1218

img_1249

img_1251

DAY 6

This morning it’s down to only a few chunks.

img_1253

img_1252

I brought all the pieces together this morning before having a cup of coffee. Once they’re burned down to ashes I’ll clean the fire pit out with the leaf blower.

img_1254

A few hours after, I squished everything together again:

img_1264

And then I blasted the ashes out some. I ran out of battery, so I’ll have to do a little more cleaning, but we’re really down to the end now.

img_1265

I don’t think there much left to talk about here. The fire went on for 6 days and 5 nights, it was pretty sweet. My favorite part was coming home daily to the smell of wood smoke. Once it’s all done I’ll clean the pit and get it nice for the new owner, and I’m fairly certain at this point that this will have been my last fire here…at least it was a good one :)



Thanks for checking out some more of my work! As always, I hope you enjoyed witnessing as much as I enjoyed creating!

© Photos and words by @albuslucimus, except where otherwise indicated.


img_4821.png


If you enjoy my content, check out the Albus Index!

Here you’ll find links to various post-groupings, so you can find all posts related to a specific topic quickly. Topics include lists of brewing recipes, flutes, crypto talks, rucking posts and an index of all acoustic covers. The lists are updated as new content is added, so they can always be used to quickly navigate my content.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency