Covid opinions pushing families apart

I suppose I am lucky in this regard because all of my immediate and extended family have basically the same opinion about covid, vaccines, social-distancing, masks, you name it. All except for one and this person moved to a large metro city years ago and now has very little in common with us. Big cities do that to a person a I guess.

Don't get me wrong, we still love this person and they are our family hell or high water. It is tragic to me that politically-motivated things and ideologies are tearing friends and families apart and one such conversation was forwarded to me recently that is taking place between what i think is a father and daughter in relation to vaccination.

There are two parts to this


photo_2021-08-05_19-37-15 (2).jpg

I am not familiar with who John Eyers is but ok, so a guy outside of the usual aspects of covid death died to Covid. The idea being to scare younger people into getting vaccinated I guess. The daughter in this situation is trying to convince her anti-vaccine father to take this information seriously and convince him to change his ways.

I feel as though his response was rather "fatherly"


photo_2021-08-05_19-37-15.jpg

I don't know a lot of people who would be considered progressive and I also live in a community that doesn't really feel a great deal of pressure to get vaccinated. There are some people that are doing it, others who are not and we just kind of have a "whatever!" reaction to that particular person's decision to do it or not.

I saw it happen with Trump and now we are seeing it with Covid where families are being wrecked by the media's constant onslaught towards this topic. I'm a live and let live kind of person and anyone related to me knows that they can do whatever the fuck they want and I am not going to get in their way.

I am really happy that my social media presence is very limited and i do not get involved in this sort of crap. If your dad doesn't want to get vaccinated than shut up, and let him not get vaccinated. That's the way I feel about it. This talk about non vaccinated people infecting people who are vaccinated is just silly in my mind.

in the meantime I'll just stick with what I always say in regards to this, and almost any other topic.


unnamed.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency