Leadership phase I wasn't prepared for!!

Leadership isn't for the weak, it comes in great and bad ways, what makes a leader is the people and not forgetting the veto power that comes with it, being a leader requires patience, tolerance, communication, and self-awareness.

I know someday everyone is gonna have a taste of being a leader, I knew this for others but not myself, never thought someone would consider me to be a leader, looking at myself with fewer qualities of leadership and bum they mentioned my name you are the new this? Questioning myself after the announcement has been made.

Source Link
First I'm a believer I go to church and engage in different activities but then I don't like associating with others, every worship day I go to church after the close of service since I don't have anyone to wait for or to gist with I'll go home without wasting time, that's how I've been for the past one year in my place of worship, then I decided to join the ushering department to help my life cause I wouldn't want to sit idle in church "all the preaching serve in a service unit" let it not be as if I'm stubborn. I became more known in the church, how do I feel about that? a little bit cool.

Every first Saturday of January the church hosts a general workers' meeting to appoint new leaders for the different departments in the church, my first workers' meeting, and I was thrilled about it, so I got to the meeting hall, it started amazingly, the activities it didn't seem like a normal church meeting, after all the presentations and ministrations, it was time to appoint new leaders, I wasn't scared cause I had this confidence that no one would appoint me after all I'm too quiet and don't associate much with people, so I was covered.

Then they started calling from the men's department, they finally got to the youth's department and called the name of the new youth president, I clapped and even screamed cause it seemed much easier then the vice president they called my name, I looked around if I was gonna see another "Tarila" unfortunately I'm was the only tarila in the building that day, on hearing the news I couldn't stand for a while suddenly I developed muscle strain on my right leg, as I finally stood I was limping to the alter, I thought it was a joke till I stood close to the new youth's president then I knew its no joke.

Leading adults isn't an easy task, what makes it easy is having certain people who believe and trust your leadership can make everything go smoothly, viewing people from a distance makes you have a different perspective about them as I got closer to them I realized there was something unique about each of them and the leadership wasn't as hard as I thought it could be, it felt more natural.

At the early stage, it was very difficult because I had a phobia of public speaking and thoughts of how I was gonna address the youths, so one faithful day we hosted a meeting and at the dying minutes the youth president called that he wouldn't be available for the meeting and puts me in charge, at first I was scared but then I started to flow with the whole process. Did I adapt to it? "Well I did" I became used to speaking in a crowd, public speaking is something I was scared of cause I feel others won't like or listen to what I've got to say but being a leader has made everything different, I've built my self-confidence of speaking in public and the people listen to what I'm saying and even make contributions and others ask questions, I've also learned to listen and pay quality attention to what others are saying.

Thanks for reading🌹

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now