This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Life's Compass: Quotes that keep me grounded

I initially wanted to write about the second prompt but I noticed I was finding it challenging thinking of lies that I had believed growing up. It may be due to the fact that I grew up with my grandparents and we were raised like soldiers. This had the good and bad side to it of course among which was, I wasn't sociable but on the bright side I wasn't so gullible either.

The kicker is right now, anyone who knows me online and offline would say that I easily get along with people and this is largely attributed to my university days where I was blessed with "big brothers" who helped me build a reading habit. I read voraciously from self help books to business books and a host of others.

Amongst all these books the one that stood out for me was "How to win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie. I had a deficiency when it came to relating with people, I was always quiet and didn't really prompt conversations.

I was what you'd called "the active listener" and most people I came to know would be connected, a classic example is, I meet person A, we talk... Person A knows person B, he introduces me and we start talking. Person B knows Person C and D... He introduces me and that's how it was for me. Joyfully, all that changed when I read this book, this isn't a book review so I'd get to the point.

There is so much to be said about the book but "Interest in others is the secret of getting along with others" and "The way to win people to your way of thinking is to begin with agreement on their viewpoints." are quotes from the book that are tenets I use in my day to day dealings with people.

I've seen people argue and fight over the slightest of things, things like:

  1. Ronaldo is better than Messi. (SUUUUUUUU)
  2. Peter Obi is better than Tinubu. (Elupee 74)
  3. Garri is better than golden morn...( hehehe > in Rema's Voice - I am already adding my own, no one argues about that but then Garri is goated).

Most times, I just smile in my heart and wish everyone would actually realize that we don't have to agree on everything plus you can't win anyone to your way of thinking if the first thing you do is to attack theirs vehemently.

One thing that is sure is no matter where you decide to work, live or shop you will need to interact with people at some point or another it could be superficial or on a deeper level, you would need to arm yourself with the knowledge that makes everything seamless and for me these two quotes have been a guiding principle to achieve this.

Yes, I know I was supposed to pick just one but they are both invaluable and I decided to share both.

This is my response to the @hive-naija week 64 prompt

📝 As we go through life, no doubt we have heard a lot of quotes that were symbolic to us in one way or the other. This week, we want to know that one special life quote that has stuck with you and why this particular quote is important to you and how it may have affected your life.

I had to double check because last week I posted into the wrong community, all good Today. Thank you for taking out time to read. I appreciate your Time. See you soon.

Images created using Quotescover.com