It is either I become successful or nothing.

Money means a lot of things to people and the funniest I have heard is that the root of evil, I have heard this several times and it makes me laugh. To me, money is quite important for everyone. We need it to do almost everything in the world and acquiring in a legit it is important.

The importance of money can't be quantified and it's something else when we don't have enough to meet our needs in life. Not having enough for yourself can put you in a tight situation when seeking help from people.

A lot of people are not what we think they are and we don't get to see the truth about them until we need their help. I remembered a scenario a few years ago when I needed money to process my admission. Things weren't that cool for my parents financially and we thought of seeking help from an extended family who lives in Lagos.

He is rich and many families go to him for help. I am not close to him like my nephews and cousins but my situation warrants that I move closer to him for help. I left Ogun state to see him in Lagos and immediately after I arrived at his residence, I realized he was rich.

He lives in a mansion and has expensive cars. I didn't meet him so I waited in the compound since the wife was behaving weirdly. While waiting, an older guy came out of the security room to say hello to me. I didn't recognize him and he introduced himself to me.

The guy is the son of my uncle's immediate younger sister, we chatted and I asked if he was living with them.

He started living with them when he gained admission into the school in their neighbourhood. His parents weren't financially fit so they suggested that he stay with his uncle who made him work as a gateman/errand boy in exchange for accommodation.

I didn't believe everything he said and went to check his place, the room was empty except for a flatbed and his things.

I asked why he agreed to stay and he told me that there was no other choice. I felt heartbroken and when I finally met my uncle, he told me that there was nothing he could do for me at that time.

I was surprised and wasn't because the guy already told me that if I was of no benefit to him, he might not help me.

I left his place disappointed and it would interest you to know that he had a huge birthday party for his daughter who was studying medicine. That year, I forfeited my admission to the university.

I didn't blame or resent him for anything and I just thought that if my parents were okay, I wouldn't have any reason to go him in the first place. God did his wonders and my parents could do the needful the following year.

Today I am a graduate without his help, the experience fuelled my desire for success. It made me determined to be rich regardless of the challenges I faced in life not just for myself but for people who have to be trampled on or treated like shit before they can get help.

Almighty Allah didn't teach us to inflict pain on people before we help and that's not even help in the sight of God. Life can't be 100% perfect for everyone and even though I will need help, it wouldn't be something that someone will have to insult me first.

My image

I made a decision that day and am working towards it. At the moment, I am doing multiple jobs just to bring my dreams to reality and the Almighty Allah will crown my effort.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now