[ESP/ENG] On coming out with yourself | Embracing my fears in catharsis.

IMG_20210603_140628.jpg


Sobre salir del closet contigo misma | Aceptando mis miedos en catarsis.


Since I was a little girl I knew that women kissed other women, and men kissed other men, and women kissed men. That is, I knew that people kissed other people to express their love.

I don't know how at the age of five I was "mature" (rather, free) enough to know that and why mommy didn't. She, a grown woman, who came across an ad of two women kissing on the Internet, was shocked as she covered me up so I wouldn't see this "abomination". I want to say it: Mom, I had seen it a second ago, and the two of them weren't even in sexual positions, they were well dressed. They were just kissing.

Anyway. At this age I also learned that "gay" was a bad word and that kids used it to insult each other. I never managed to understand what the purpose of this insult was.

When I was eleven, Mom wouldn't let me watch "Avatar: The Legend of Korra" because "it would give me ideas," even though we were both Avatar fans. I was a girl who sported a little mustache that was more noticeable than the boys', I was very hairy, so mom related it to me having "man hormones" that could lead me "the other way," so she didn't want to risk me seeing "inappropriate" things. That was her argument.

(So far I haven't seen Legend of Korra, I should).

Desde pequeña sabía que las mujeres se besaban con otras mujeres, y los hombres con otros hombres, y las mujeres con los hombres. Es decir, sabía que las personas se besaban con otras personas para expresar su amor.

No sé cómo a los cinco años era tan "madura" (mejor dicho, libre) como para saberlo y por qué mamá no. Ella, una mujer grande, quien le salió un anuncio de dos mujeres besandose por Internet, estaba escandalizada mientras me tapaba para que yo no viera esa "abominación". Quiero decirlo: Mamá, lo había visto hace un segundo, y las dos ni si quiera tenían posiciones sexuales, estaban bien vestidas. Solo se estaban besando.

En fin. A esta edad también aprendí que "gay" era una mala palabra y que los niños la usaban para insultarse entre ellos. Nunca logré entender cuál era el fin de este insulto.

A mis once años, mamá no me dejó ver "Avatar: la leyenda de Korra" porque "me iba a dar ideas", a pesar de que ambas éramos fanáticas de Avatar. Yo era una niña que lucia un pequeño bigote más notorio que el de los niños, era muy velluda, así que mamá lo relacionó con que tenía "hormonas de hombre" que podían llevarme hacia "otro lado", así que no quería arriesgarse a que viera cosas "indebidas". Ese era su argumento.

(Hasta ahora no he visto la leyenda de Korra, debería hacerlo).

untitled.gif
Searched in Tenor, by PeakD.

In high school, I thought that people in the LGBTIQ+ community were exceptional people, to be loved, adored and respected, regardless of whether they were good people or not, as I was sure they had already been through a lot. So I focused on people who had come out of the closet, to protect them and to be their straight friend who understood and supported them completely.

En el liceo, pensaba que las personas de la comunidad LGBTIQ+ eran personas excepcionales, que había que amarlas, adorarlas y respetarlas, sin importar si eran buenas personas o no, puesto que estaba segura que ya habían pasado por mucho. Así que me concentré en las personas que habían salido del closet, para protegerlas y ser su amiga heterosexual que los entendía y apoyaba completamente.

IMG_20210603_140736.jpg

Fine, but worshipping them? That was a lot of me...they were just people. I didn't get it until I learned that I was part of those "exceptional" people and that they weren't just one or two characters from high school; one or two characters from my favorite book or movie, they were almost half the world I knew.

I'm a romance story girl. Romance lived in me all my life; books, movies, series, novels...all of it taught me to love the perfect man. However, when a woman came into my life, this beautiful, dangerous woman, it was such a different love.... It didn't feel like when you love a man, I was really confused and light, the weight of being the one who always carries the blows had changed...However, I felt the wounds more deeply.

Bien, pero, ¿Adorarlas? Eso era mucho de mi parte...solo eran personas. No lo entendí hasta que me enteré que yo era parte de esas personas "excepcionales" y que ellos no eran solo uno o dos personajes del liceo; uno o dos personajes de mi libro o película favorita, eran casi la mitad del mundo que conocía.

Soy una chica de historias románticas. El romance vivió en mí toda mi vida; libros películas, series, novelas...todo eso me enseñó a amar al hombre perfecto. Sin embargo, cuando apareció una mujer en mi vida, esta mujer hermosa y peligrosa, era un amor tan diferente... No se sentía a cuando amas a un hombre, estaba realmente confusa y ligera, el peso de ser la que siempre lleva los golpes había cambiado...Sin embargo, sentía las heridas a mayor profundidad.



When she appeared, I realized that this different love was always with me, when I wanted to get very close to a girl to be "her friend" because she was "very pretty and nice". But literature, a world I always lived in, had not taught me how to feel it. Neither had life itself. So I couldn't stand not being able to make anything official because I was inside the closet, I had to give many explanations about myself and I never liked that. Besides, that woman had broken my heart and I wanted to focus on myself.

After two years, the love of my life appeared. And I say love of my life because right now he is. He appeared in the form of a man. And I say...Thank God! Because it's so much easier, I don't have to explain myself so much. And I haven't wanted to admit this because I look like a "coward", but I wished so, many times. When I prayed for my next partner (who I really thought was going to make it to my 30's because I'm very picky), I wished as a last requirement that he was a man to lighten this weight on my shoulders that I felt when I dated a woman.

Now, this relationship has been a little challenge because I am still growing as a person and I am deconstructing everything harmful that we can find in romance, in "romantic" love. That which enslaves the woman and subjugates her, if we are talking about a heterosexual relationship. And it's hard because I grew up living in this world (relax, the man I'm with is a good person, but the system should not be ignored).

I also grew up in a world of repression. I still can't openly talk about HIM to my family, as if it kept us both in my closet. I kept this weight on my shoulders and I want to tell you how it lightened. It was on a night when I cried a lot, because I love this man with all my strength and I was honest with myself, not only about my sexuality but about how I express love.... Love that doesn't care about sex, gender or otherwise, but about how it makes me feel and how I want to protect this in the face of all the criticism in the world.

Cuando ella apareció, me di cuenta que este amor diferente siempre estuvo conmigo, cuando quería acercarme mucho a una niña para ser "su amiga" porque era "muy bonita y agradable". Pero la literatura, un mundo en el que siempre vivía, no me había enseñado a cómo sentirlo. Tampoco la vida misma. Así que no soporté el no poder hacer oficial nada por estar dentro del closet, tenía que dar muchas explicaciones sobre mí y eso nunca me ha agradado. Además esa mujer había roto mi corazón y quería enfocarme en mí misma.

Luego de dos años, apareció el amor de mi vida. Y le digo amor de mi vida porque ahora mismo lo es. Apareció en la forma de un hombre. Y digo...¡Gracias a Dios! Porque es mucho más fácil, no tengo que dar tantas explicaciones. Y no he querido admitir esto porque quedo como una "cobarde", pero así lo deseé, muchas veces. Cuando oraba por mi próxima pareja (que realmente pensé que iba a llegar a mis 30 años porque soy muy selectiva), deseaba como último requisito que fuera hombre para aligerar este peso en mis hombros que sentía cuando salía con una mujer.

Ahora bien, esta relación ha sido un pequeño reto porque sigo creciendo como persona y estoy deconstruyendo todo lo dañino que podemos encontrar en el romance, en el amor "romántico". Ese que esclaviza a la mujer y la subyuga, si estamos hablando de una relación heterosexual. Y es difícil porque yo crecí viviendo en este mundo. (Tranquilos, el hombre con el que estoy es buena persona, pero no hay que ignorar el sistema).

También crecí en un mundo de represión. Todavía sigo sin poder hablar abiertamente sobre ÉL a mí familia, como si nos mantuviera a los dos en mi closet. Seguía este peso en mis hombros y quiero contarles cómo se aligeró. Fue en una noche en la que lloré mucho, porque amo con todas mis fuerzas a este hombre y me sinceré conmigo, no solo sobre mi sexualidad sino sobre como expreso el amor... Amor al que no le importa el sexo, género o demás, sino el cómo me hace sentir y cómo quiero proteger esto frente a toda crítica del mundo.


Searched in Tenor, by PeakD.

With this text I want to say that, for us bisexuals it is also difficult to come out of the closet, and that there is a double or triple closet, it is difficult to manage them all, but you do what you can while you are encouraged to try new clothes and throw away the ones that no longer serve you for anything, no matter what your family tells you. You're not wasting, you're renewing yourself and adding new things. As long as I'm trying new things, I'm free. And I'm being free with myself, I think that's the first step to being free with others.

All of life is a constant growth. And if someday I grow in a surprising way, like to be so confident and say with a chuckle, "wuah, mom, you really didn't know I'm bisexual?" I'm going to allow myself to be proud for the me of the future and the me of today who is taking this small step of trying different clothes in front of my pre-established closet.

Con este texto quiero decir que, para nosotros los bisexuales también es difícil salir del closet, y que hay un closet doble o triple, es difícil manejarlos todos, pero se hace lo que se puede mientras te animas a probar ropa nueva y botar la que ya no te sirve para nada, sin importar lo que te diga tu familia. No estás desperdiciando, te estás renovando y añadiendo cosas nuevas. Mientras pruebo cosas nuevas, soy libre. Y estoy siendo libre conmigo misma, creo que es el primer paso para ser libre con los demás.

Toda la vida es un constante crecimiento. Y si algún día crezco de una manera sorprendente, como para estar tan segura y decir entre risas "wuah, mamá, realmente no sabías que soy bisexual?" Me voy a permitir estar orgullosa por la yo del futuro y la de hoy que está dando este pequeño paso de probar ropa diferente frente a mi closet pre-establecido.

IMG_20210603_140612.jpg



Escrito por @revivemyheart el 01 de marzo de 2021. / Written by @revivemyheart on 01 March 2021.
Publicado especialmente por el mes del orgullo LGBT. / Posted especially for LGBT pride month.
Maquillaje y fotos por @revivemyheart. / Makeup and photos by @revivemyheart.
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency