Obesity and pain [Eng | Esp]

Hello, Catarsis community!

There are huge frustrations and things we can't handle, but there is no greater tedium than when you are seeing your in-laws, especially when you have severe back pain and little sleep under your belt.

This was my situation a couple of days ago and I would like to talk about the cause of those few hours of sleep and my back pain. It's one and it's called Obesity, yes today I'm here to do a catharsis on my recent weight gain.

My belly is almost 143 centimeters wide
.

Little by little, I have been struggling in accepting my recent weight gains, while they are obvious, one always finds ways to lie to oneself, there is always that little voice in the head that says, "I am getting fat because of stress", "Anxiety makes me eat a lot" and my favorite from last year "When I buy the car I will walk more, so I exercise and walk Sofia next to Abigail", but being honest it is only one cause, I eat a lot because for me eating is solving things and the solution has to come from me, not from the food.

This is because I find myself very easily eating out of anxiety and about 80 to 90% of what I consume is carbs, which are perfect for gaining weight quickly; however, that doesn't change the fact that I have gained so much weight that I have almost none of my recent clothes left and I started pulling out old clothes, from when I was much fatter, those clothes I kept as a reminder that I shouldn't fall back into that extreme.

And it is this palpable frustration that keeps me awake at night, I thought I had overcome this problem years ago; however, now that I am a father I find myself very easily returning to those old patterns of complaining and solving everything by eating sweets... To realize today that neither of those two attitudes is a solution, both are running away from my reality and hiding from myself the possibility of overcoming my health problem before it is too late.

My inlaw, Abigail's Dad

Because it's not just the obesity, back pain, and tedium, it's the fact that I feel depressed about getting fat, feel anxious, and can't sleep because of the pounds I've gained and that my "solution" is to eat more, that's crazy and has to stop.

With the recent back pains, I feel, I have very quickly found the bill I have outstanding to pay to my body, the pain has been exhausting, especially when I carry Sofia and on the recent visit from my in-laws, it was the limit for me. My in-laws upon arrival saw me in one of those "comfy" flannels, which I thought looked good on me, I was on my way out shopping at the time, so I had no reason to change my father-in-law's first words were: Jesus bless you but... Your belly is showing.

The deep sense of shame I felt was beyond description, it turns out I have been going out like this for a week and no one had told me, maybe out of respect, maybe for some other reason, it matters little now, what matters to me is that my father-in-law hadn't seen me for months and he told me I looked a hell of a lot fatter than the last time he saw me.

Sofia's happiness

This made an emotional mark on me for days, where I have fought against myself to come out of my lethargy, that the good intentions of my in-laws, as tedious as they were to me at the time, were not in vain. I was locking myself in denial and not accepting having gained "So Much" weight, but the amount of food I consumed during Abigail's pregnancy and sleepless nights with Sophia had to go somewhere.

The most important thing is indeed to give Sofia a long life of fatherhood, that is perhaps the main motivation I have to focus on losing weight and improving my health, my beautiful baby girl needs and deserves a daddy present to play with her, not a daddy unable to jog, let alone run beside her while she plays.

My world and stars, Sofía

This struggle is something real and palpable, especially at the belly level; as much as some people never deal with it in their lives, it doesn't mean that some of us don't suffer from health issues and pain from obesity. This catharsis is my start, my battle cry, it's the moment where I decide to do something before I generate stress or sugar problems and I can't do anything about it but live with it for the rest of my life, so it's better to start now and avoid the damage before it becomes permanent.

Yesterday was another sleepless night as I thought about all this, I hope Abigail will forgive me for actually spending the night at the computer, just to feel better about myself through fast games like MOBA's that give a lot of satisfaction and are nothing more than Digital additions, another night with back pain and sleep.

Made by me on Canva

I hope you have read with tranquility the text, and if little has to do the tedium and my in-laws with my situation, but sometimes it is those little things that open our eyes, tell me, Have you ever received this kind of comment from your family? Did you do something to improve your situation? I will gladly read them in the comments section.


Spanish


¡Hola comunidad de Catarsis!

Existen frustraciones enormes y cosas que no podemos manejar, pero no hay mayor tedio que el que se vive cuando te ves con tus suegros, especialmente cuando tienes un fuerte dolor de espalda y escasas horas de sueño en tu haber.

Esta fue mi situación hace un par de días y quisiera hablar sobre la causa de esas escasas horas de sueño y de mi dolor de espalda. Es una sola y se llama Obesidad, si hoy vengo a hacer una catarsis sobre mi reciente aumento de peso.

Mi suegro con mi papa y Sofía

Poco a poco he estado luchando en aceptar mis recientes aumentos de peso, si bien son evidentes, uno siempre encuentra maneras de mentirse a sí mismo, siempre está esa vocecilla en la cabeza que dice: "Estoy engordando por el estrés", "La ansiedad me hace comer mucho" y mi favorito del año pasado "Cuando compre el coche caminaré más, así hago ejercicio y paseo a Sofía junto a Abigail", pero siendo honestos es una sola causa, Yo como mucho porque para mí comer es solucionar las cosas y la solución tiene que venir de mí, no de la comida.

Esto se debe a que me encuentro muy fácilmente comiendo por ansiedad y alrededor de 80 a 90% de lo que consumo es carbohidratos, los cuales son perfectos para aumentar de peso rápidamente; sin embargo, eso no cambia el hecho de que he aumentado tanto de peso que ya casi no me queda nada de mi ropa reciente y comencé a sacar vieja ropa, de cuando estaba mucho más gordo, esa ropa que guarde como recordatorio de que no debía caer de nuevo en ese extremo.

Y es esta frustración palpable la cual me quita el sueño, pensaba haber superado este problema hace años; sin embargo, ahora que soy padre me encuentro muy fácilmente retornando a esos viejos patrones de quejarme y solucionar todo comiendo dulces... Para darme hoy cuenta de que ninguna de esas dos actitudes es una solución, ambas son huir de mi realidad y ocultarme a mi mismo la posibilidad de superar mi problema de salud antes de que sea muy tarde.

El estirón de mi barriga

Porque no es solo la obesidad, el dolor de espalda y el tedio, es el hecho de sentirme deprimido por engordar, sentir ansiedad y no poder dormir por los kilos que he ganado y que mi "solución" sea comer más, eso es una locura y tiene que parar.

Con los recientes dolores de espalda que siento, muy pronto he encontrado la factura que tengo pendiente por pagar a mi cuerpo, el dolor ha sido agotador, especialmente cuando cargo a Sofía y en la reciente visita de mis suegros fue el límite para mí. Mis suegros al llegar me vieron en una de esas franelas "cómodas", que creía me quedaban bien, iba yo saliendo de compras en ese instante, así que no tenía razón para cambiarme y las primeras palabras de mi suegro fue: Jesús que Dios te bendiga pero... Se te ve la barriga.

La profunda sensación de pena que sentí no tuvo descripción, resulta que tengo una semana saliendo así y nadie me había dicho, quizás por respeto, quizás por alguna otra razón, ahora importa poco, lo que me importa es que mi suegro tenía meses sin verme y me dijo que me veía muchísimo más gordo que la última vez que me vio.

Dolor insufrible de espalda

Esto me hizo una marca emocional por días, donde he luchado contra mi mismo para salir de mi letargo, que las buenas intenciones de mis suegros, por muy tediosas que me resultaran en su momento, no fueran en vano. Obviamente, yo me estaba encerrando en la negación y no aceptaba haber aumentado "Tanto" de peso, pero la cantidad de comida que consumí durante el embarazo de Abigail y las noches en vela con Sofía tenía que ir a algún lugar.

Lo mas importante es de hecho dar una larga vida de paternidad a Sofía, esa es quizas la principal motivacion que tengo para enfocarme en perder peso y mejorar mi salud, mi hermosa bebita necesita y merece a un papa presente que juegue con ella, no a un papa incapaz de trotar ni mucho menos correr a su lado mientras juega.

Sofía y yo

Esta lucha es algo real y palpable, especialmente al nivel de la barriga; por mucho que algunas personas jamás lo lidien en su vida, no significa que algunos no suframos realmente de problemas de salud y dolores por obesidad. Esta catarsis es mi inicio, mi grito de guerra, es el momento donde decido hacer algo antes de generar problemas de tensión o de azúcar y que ya no pueda hacer nada al respecto más que vivir con eso el resto de mi vida, por ende es mejor comenzar ahora y evitar los daños antes de que se hagan permanentes.

Ayer fue otra noche sin sueño mientras pensaba en todo esto, espero me perdone Abigail por de hecho pasar la noche en el computador, solo para sentirme mejor conmigo mismo mediante juegos rápidos como los MOBA que dan mucha satisfacción y no son más que adiciones Digitales, otra noche con dolor de espalda y sueño.

Banner hecho en Canva, por mi

Espero hayan leído con tranquilidad el texto, y si poco tiene que ver el tedio y mis suegros con mi situación, pero a veces son esas pequeñas cosas las que nos abren los ojos, cuéntenme ¿Alguna vez han recibido este tipo de comentario por parte de su familia? ¿Hicieron algo para mejorar su situación? Los leeré con gusto en la sección de comentarios.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency