[ENG/ESP] Thoughtful days | Días para pensar

English | Inglés


Greetings, Hive!

Lately I haven't been as active as I'd like to be around here, the reason for this is that I've had a few days that I like to think of as a "transitional time". There have been a couple of things going on that have kept me busy and thoughtful, and even though I sometimes show my family and friends that I'm completely fine and don't need help, the truth is that I feel particularly overwhelmed (even if most of the time I don't want to admit it). And it's not like I’m feeling depressed, but it's hard to find the daily motivation to keep going.

mar.gif


The first thing that happened was a month ago, my girlfriend emigrated from Venezuela due to the strong political and social crisis that we live here. It can be said that from that moment on I started to "move away" a little bit from Hive, because I decided to be with her as much time as possible before she had left Venezuela, we wanted to take advantage of every second together because it is completely uncertain if we are going to see each other again someday. The overall experience has been quite a mixture of feelings... Explosive feelings perhaps?

IMG_20210617_220312.jpg

My girlfriend and I some days prior to her flight

On the one hand, I’m extremely happy and proud of her, right now she is in a first world country living the life she deserves and with a whole universe of possibilities at her fingertips to achieve her dreams. On the other hand... Obviously I’m very sad that we would have to separate haha, in fact it’s something that affects me much more than it seems, it makes me feel frustrated and helpless, and even unfortunate to have been born on this side of the pond... But lamenting will not achieve anything, so my only option is to continue on my way. One good thing about all of this is that I have learned to enjoy my solitude; it can be said that at some point I became quite dependent on my love relationships, but thanks to my friends, my girlfriend, and a lot of work I had with myself, I began to detach myself from that emotional dependence, and what I am living right now can be said to be the "perfect test" for it. As I said before, I’m slowly learning to enjoy more and more being alone, being completely independent and doing things by and for me, it hasn’t been easy and I think I haven’t achieved it in its entirety, but I am proud of all that I have advanced and I think things look good for me in the near future.

IMG_20210623_065459.jpg


The second thing is that, recently the biosecurity measures due to covid-19 have been getting more and more flexible and my work has been reactivating little by little. As some of you may know, I play the tuba in a symphony orchestra; these types of jobs were the most affected in the quarantine as we couldn’t do live performances (which are basically the reason for our work). These last two weeks I had two live performances, one with a brass quintet for an event of the French embassy in Venezuela, and the most recent one was movies repertoire concert where we played the soundtrack of movies like Pirates of the Caribbean, Jurassic Park, Titanic, and of course, the legendary Star Wars.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-26 at 2.40.41 PM (1).jpeg

This has also been a shock of feelings in several ways, firstly because it has made me re-adapt myself to my previous work routine and I'm not entirely sure if I miss it. I mean, I like being busy and I like having things to do, I like playing in the orchestra and I like music, but the routine is so exhausting that I don't know if it's worth it for what we're charging. In the middle of all this is also my insecurity regarding whether or not to continue in music, as much as I try to hold on to it, it isn’t the same as before, not even playing the music I like, I have tried to find motivation to practice but I just can't find it. Logically that is reflected in my performance in the orchestra, which although it isn’t bad, it isn’t even 20% of what I know it could be, and that makes me feel like a mediocre... It is difficult, because even though the decision seems clear, I just can't finish taking the step. As I said a few lines ago, this work routine is a bit exhausting because I live very far from my work place, which translates into leaving home very early and getting home very late, leaving me without much time to, for example, be able to post on Hive.

IMG_20210722_173908.jpg

Minutes before the concert


Other good things that have happened these last weeks are: thanks to the concert for the French embassy I was able to buy a pair of pants and a pair of shoes that I urgently needed, I am taking the last module of my English course so in a few weeks I will be officially a bilingual, I was able to get the first dose of the vaccine against covid-19, the film repertoire concert was at the Humboldt Hotel, which is at the top of the Avila hill in Caracas, going there and having the opportunity to see the hotel was great. And the most important thing (at least for me) is that, in general, my feelings have been much more stable than years ago.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-26 at 2.37.11 PM.jpeg

Vaccine's first dose!


Lately I have been learning to see the gray in all situations, whether good or bad, I have understood that controlling your emotions isn’t synonymous of repressing them, that it is necessary to live to the fullest to get the most out of everything. All these things may seem a little obvious, but believe me, they haven’t always been so for me. There is much more behind everything I have said, but I think they are much more personal details that I am not sure I would feel comfortable writing here, I just hope that this moment of transition continues on to teaching me things about life and myself.

IMG_20210722_120940.jpg

IMG_20210722_154941.jpg

Humboldt Hotel


Español | Spanish


¡Saludos, Hive!

Últimamente no he estado tan activo por aquí como quisiera y la razón de esto es que he tenido unos días en los que me gusta pensar como un “momento de transición”. Han pasado un par de cosas que me han mantenido ocupado y pensativo, y aunque a veces les demuestre a mis familiares y amigos que estoy completamente bien y que no necesito ayuda, lo cierto es que me siento particularmente abrumado (aunque no quiera admitirlo la mayoría de las veces). Y no es que me sienta deprimido, pero si es difícil encontrar la motivación diaria para seguir adelante.

mar.gif


La primera de las cosas que sucedieron fue que, hace un mes, mi novia emigro de Venezuela debido a la fuerte crisis política y social que vivimos aquí. Se puede decir que a partir ese momento comencé a “alejarme” un poco de Hive porque decidí estar con ella todo el tiempo posible que le quedara en Venezuela, queríamos aprovechar cada segundo juntos porque es completamente incierto si vamos a vernos de nuevo algún día. La experiencia en general ha sido una mezcla de sentimientos bastante… Explosiva quizás.

IMG_20210617_220312.jpg

Mi novia y yo unos días antes de su vuelo

Por una parte, estoy extremadamente feliz y orgulloso de ella, en estos momentos está en un país del primer mundo viviendo la vida que se merece y con todo un universo de posibilidades al alcance de su mano para alcanzar sus sueños. Por el otro lado pues… Obviamente estoy muy triste por habernos separado jaja, de hecho es algo que me afecta mucho más de lo que parece, me hace sentir frustrado e impotente, e incluso desafortunado por haber nacido en este lado del charco… Pero lamentándome no lograré nada, así que mi única opción es seguir con mi camino. Algo bueno de todo esto es que he aprendido a disfrutar mi soledad; se puede decir que en algún momento llegué a ser alguien bastante dependiente de mis relaciones amorosas, pero gracias a mis amigos, a mi novia, y a mucho trabajo que tuve conmigo mismo, comencé a desligarme de esa dependencia emocional, y esto que estoy viviendo en este momento se puede decir que es la “prueba perfecta” para ello. Como dije anteriormente, estoy poco a poco aprendiendo a disfrutar cada vez más el estar solo, ser completamente independiente y hacer las cosas por y para mí, no ha sido nada fácil y creo que tampoco lo he logrado en su totalidad, pero estoy orgulloso de todo lo que he avanzado y creo que las cosas pintan bien para mí en el futuro cercano.

IMG_20210623_065459.jpg


Lo segundo es que, recientemente las medidas de bioseguridad debido al covid-19 han estado flexibilizándose cada vez más y mi trabajo ha estado reactivándose poco a poco. Como algunos sabrán, toco la tuba en una orquesta sinfónica, los trabajos de este tipo fueron los que más se vieron afectados en la cuarentena ya que no podíamos hacer presentaciones en vivo (las cuales son básicamente la razón de nuestro trabajo). Estas dos últimas semanas tuve dos presentaciones en vivo, una con un quinteto de metales para un evento de la embajada de Francia en Venezuela, y la última un concierto de repertorio de películas donde tocamos el soundtrack de películas como Piratas del Caribe, Jurassic Park, Titanic, y por supuesto, la legendaria Star Wars.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-26 at 2.40.41 PM (1).jpeg

Esto también ha sido un choque de sentimientos en varias formas, primero porque me ha hecho re-adaptarme a mi rutina de trabajo anterior y no estoy completamente seguro si la extraño. Es decir, me gusta estar ocupado y me gusta tener cosas que hacer, me gusta tocar en orquesta y me gusta la música, pero la rutina es tan agotadora que no se si vale la pena para lo que estamos cobrando. En el medio de todo esto también está mi inseguridad con respecto a seguir o no en la música, por más que intento aferrarme a ella ya no es lo mismo que antes, ni siquiera tocando la música que me gusta, he tratado de buscar motivación para practicar pero sencillamente no la encuentro. Lógicamente eso se ve reflejado en mi desempeño en la orquesta, que si bien no es malo, no es ni siquiera el 20% de lo que sé que podría ser, y eso me hace sentir como alguien muy mediocre… Es difícil, porque a pesar de que la decisión parece clara, simplemente no puedo terminar de dar el paso. Como dije hace unas líneas, esta rutina de trabajo es un poco agotadora porque vivo muy lejos de mi sitio de trabajo, lo que se traduce en salir de casa muy temprano y llegar a casa muy tarde, dejándome sin mucho tiempo para por ejemplo, poder publicar en Hive.

IMG_20210722_173908.jpg

Minutos antes del concierto


Otras cosas buenas que han sucedido estas últimas semanas son que: gracias al concierto para la embajada de Francia pude comprarme un par de pantalones y un par de zapatos que necesitaba con urgencia, estoy cursando el ultimo módulo de mi curso de inglés por lo que en unas semanas seré oficialmente bilingüe, pude ponerme la primera dosis de la vacuna contra el covid-19, el concierto del repertorio de películas fue en el Hotel Humboldt, que queda en la cima del cerro Ávila en Caracas, ir allá y tener la oportunidad de conocer el hotel fue genial. Y lo más importante (al menos para mí) es que, en general, mis sentimientos han estado mucho más estables que hace años.

WhatsApp Image 2021-07-26 at 2.37.11 PM.jpeg

¡Primera dosis de la vacuna!


Últimamente he estado aprendiendo a ver lo gris de todas las situaciones, sean buenas o malas, he entendido que controlar tus emociones no es sinónimo de reprimirlas, que es necesario vivir a plenitud para sacarle el mayor provecho posible a todo. Todas estas cosas pueden parecer un poco obvias, pero créanme que para mí no siempre lo han sido. Hay mucho más detrás de todo lo que he dicho, pero creo que son detalles mucho más personales de los que no estoy seguro que me sentiría cómodo escribiendo por acá, solamente espero que este momento de transición siga enseñándome cosas acerca de la vida y de mí mismo.

IMG_20210722_120940.jpg

IMG_20210722_154941.jpg

Hotel Humboldt


In the end everything will be all right, and if it is not, it is not yet the end. | Al final todo estará bien, y si no lo está es porque aún no es el final.

final.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency