Cocotaxis: Los Tuk Tuk Cubanos [ES-EN]


Hoy vamos, con la cuarta clase de automivilismo cubano, o era la tercera? No recuerdo bien. Lo importante, es que conocerás la hisoria de uno de los vehículos más peculiares que ruedan por la Habana, si vienes de turista, es una experiencia que no puedes dejar de probar.


Join us now for the fourth class of Cuban motoring - or was it the third? Regardless, you're about to discover the fascinating history of one of Havana's most unique vehicles, and as a tourist, it's an experience you simply can't miss these peculiar vehicles, they are a popular attraction for visitors. So buckle up and get ready to explore it![ENGLISH VERSION IS BELOW]

Estos últimos meses, estoy iendo mucho al Casco Historico de la Ciudad. Esta zona, es la más turística del país y en esta época eso se nota aún más. El turismo es extremdamente bueno para los pequeños comercios locales y no tan locales, como es el caso que veremos hoy.


Al pasar gran parte de mi tiempo por allá, voy coincidiendo con personas que acostumbran a trabajar en el camino que hago día a día. Unas calles antes de llegar a mi destino, siempre me encuentro con un señor; que tiene que haber vivido alrededor de cinco década de su vida, sé que es taxista por el uniforme amarillo que lleva y además, que dice taxi bien grande en la esquina izquierda de su uniforme. Este señor, no maneja cualquier taxi, maneja un Cocotaxi!! En la mañana cuando paso, el taxista casi siempre se está preparando para salir a trabajar, siempre que me ve, me saluda con gran entusiasmo y una sonrisa de oreja a oreja, pocas veces hemos cruzado más que un saludo, pero así es el cubano, hasta el otro día ...

Luego de cumplir con las tareas que me llevan al Casco Histórico, me senté tranquilamente a degustar una pasta, en un parque tranquilo, bueno tranquilo, hasta que llegó Manolo, el taxista. No le interesó que estuviera comiendo, ni nada; se sentó frente a mi y me dijo: -vamos a conversar un poco, que estoy aburrido-: Sin conocerme de nada; este señor venía a interrumpir mi almuerzo, bueno, me lo tome como una manera de tener un almuerzo, no tan solo. Para lograr comer y que Manolo se sintiera bien, le pregunté por su taxi y es que no olvides, que maneja un Cocotaxi.


Si, si, qué diablos es un Cocotaxi? En pocas palabras, son los Tuk Tuk Cubanos. El que se le ocurrió la idea; sin duda se inspiró en los Tuk Tuk asiáticos pero quiso cubanizarlo, como es normal. No lo pensaron mucho, le dieron una forma de huevo, lo pintaron amarillo, con ribetes verdes y lo llamaron cocotaxi (ingenioso eh?) Es una forma muy amena de conocer la Habana. Antes de continuar con Manolo, fíjate en la foto que te dejo abajo. Se puede categorizar como arte abstracto, para mi, puede ser un huevo, para ti, un coco y tal vez para otro sea cualquier otra forma redondeada, el caso es que rueda.

Cocotaxi


Los cocotaxis, son Triciclos, con doble asiento atráss,donde se sientan los pasajero y el asiento del chofer delante. Están montados en los chasis de los APE 703 de Piaggio y algunos más recientes en los APE 50. Su forma la lograron haciendola con fibra de vidrio y plástico liviano. Casi siempre, han estado destinado para el turismo y es que el coste de un viaje no lo hacen rentable para los locales, aunque hubo un tiempo en que fue diferente.

En este artículo, conocerás un poco de la historia de estos vehículos desde la experiencia propia de uno de sus conductores, que no me ha dejado almorzar solo ni un día y ya le he cogido algo de afecto. Aunque no me haya llevado ni a la esquina en su Cocotaxi.

-Si quieres que un hombre hable sin parar, preguntale sobre su auto - Esta frase se la dice mi mamá a mi hermana a cada rato. En esta ocasión la usé yo. Estaba almorzando y queria seguir haciéndolo, Manolo no parecía muy dispuesto a dejarme, así que ponemos en práctica la frase.

Imagen cedida por Manolo para este artículo


-Manolo, por qué manejas un Cocotaxi?(preguntas cortas porque quería terminar mi pasta)
-Sin pensarlo mucho- ... Bueno hijo, me hubiese gustado estar en mi casa tranquilo pero esta es una entrada buena de dinero para mi familia; cobrar en dólares, lo hace muy cómodo para la realidad que vivimos (punto para Manolo, es verdad que si eres capaz de cobrar en dólares o recibir estos por remesa, puedes vivir un poco mejor que el que no lo hace)Manolo tomó un tiempo para pensar (o eso me imagino, yo seguía concentrado en mi plato de pasta)

....Coninuó.... Para mí es más importante, el conocer personas nuevas todos los días. De hecho ayer le di un tour a unos turistas de Madagascar , como la película , yo no sabia donde estaba ese país, por suerte internet es mi mejro amigo (tuve que parar de comer pirque me iba a atrangantar de la risa)-Con el poco de ingles que manejo hasta he hecho amigos y eso que no soy de hablar mucho (estas seguro de eso Manolo? pensé para mi)

Me dijo que desde que vió estos taxis, le llamaron la atención y quiso manejarlos; era algo que me llamaba, me daba curiosidad. Recuerdo, que los vi por primera vez, en la década del 90 y quise montarme en uno de ellos, en aquel tiempo era custodio en una tienda de dolares (un buen trabajo en esa época). Como estaban destinados a turistas, la única manera de montarme, era siendo chofer de uno de ellos. Por suerte un amig mío se iba del país y me dejo su Cocotaxi, después fue un dolor de cabeza que me autorizaran a manejarlo.

Foto hecha por mi padre . 2017


Los Cocotaxis se crearon para poder mover a los turistas por la ciudad a un bajo costo. En Cuba, el transporte público nunca ha sido una fortaleza y los turistas no están acostumbrados a pasar el trabajo de nosotros, así qeu fue una buena solución en ese tiempo y ahora también para que nos vamos a engañar. En el período que empezaron a operar (el Periodo Especial) sabes que había gran escases de combustible, tanto así que todas las calles se hicieron doble via para ahorrar combustible. Entonces el país se abría a el turismo pero no tenía como mover a lso turistas entro de la ciudad. Los turistas, en su mayoría, no estás acostumbrado al calor y el sol de Cuba, así que sin esperarlo, aparecieron los huevos amarillos -asi le decian mis hijos cuando lo veían-

Muchacho (me dice para que preste mayora atención) ponte a pensar, las calles de la Habana ,no son muy anchas y están llenas de personas, aquí no necesitas velocidad, sino destreza, el Cocotaxi es ideal para ellas. En la parte de atrás los turista van viendo todo el panorama, disfrutando del fresco del Malecón, las vistas de la Habana, sin coger sol, ni cansarse, puro disfrute. En la parte delantera, voy yo, como si fuera en una moto, muy tranquilo y dándole un buen repaso de historia a nuestro visitantes.

-A mi tambien me tocó el repaso de historia, sin siquiera montarme en el Coco-


El Cocotaxi de Manolo. Foto cedida por el dueño


Otra de las ventajas que tienen estos vehículos, es el poco consumo de combustible que hacen. Los vehiculo de Piaggio historicamente son conocido por ser muy eficientes. Antes de cambiar de vida, en los talleres se hacen modificaciones (una de ellas es la carroseria de platico o fibra de vidrio que los hace ligeros) haciendolos más eficientes. Manolo me decía que el, no había sufrido la acutual crisis del combustible como otros chóferes y es de enteneder.

Aunque al principio, yo tenía uno, que era a pedales, si como una bicicleta (no podía creer lo que me contaba, lástima que no tuviese fotos de ese modelo) Llegaba sudado y hambriento a la casa, directo para el baño, por suerte me lo cambiaron por este que ves.

Foto hechas por mi padre. 2017


Cuando era niño, recuerdo que por las calles veía unos Cocotaxis en color negro, bueno, me acordé hablando con mi nuevo compañero de almuerzo, al que le pregunté por ellos.

El taxista, me dice, que esos Cocotaxis, fue una manera de aliviar el transporte público, se habían destinado para los locales. La idea no funcionó muy bien, debido en gran medida a la diferencia, en cuanto a lo que ganaban sus choferes, nadie qería manejar el de los locales cuando podían ganar mucho más con los turistas. Cosa que es entendible.

Curiosamente, en estos momentos, en la Habana, se está desplegando una pequeña flota de tricilos eléctricos chinos, que cubren rutas de menos de 10 km, pasará lo mismo que con los Cocotaxis? De aquí a unos años veremos.

Manolo, me comenta que el, no se quejaba de aquella división. Aunque a el, le tocó la división de turistas, el hacia ambos. Si tenía la oprtunidad de cargar unos locales y cobrar algo por su servicio, lo hacía y después iba a por sus turistas. Más de una vez, se quedó si combustible por sacar mal las cuentas. Me dice ... soy bueno manejando pero pésimo haciendo cuentas.

De tarifas ni hablamos eh?
Me dice que la tarifa es variable y realmente nadie la regula, ni la controla. En el caso de Manolo, el cobra por horas, lo puedes alquilar e ir a donde desees durante ese tiempo. Sin embargo, sus compañeros lo hacen de otras formas pero a el, le funciona la suya.

Aunque, Manolo, no me dejó almorzar tranquilo, ni me ha dejado nunca más, me gustó mucho esa conversación. Es verdad que estos vehículo has enstado presentes desde que tengo memoria, pero creo que al verlos tan poco útiles para mi realidad, nunca pensé que tuvieran una historia. En este caso, conocerla de tan peculiar señor, me gustó más.

El Cocotaxi de Manolo visto desde atrás


Mientras hablabamos, tuvo que rechazar, dos viajes de turistas que se le acercaron, le agradezco ese gesto hacia mi. Un poco apenado por estar robándole su tiempo le agradecí su compañía y me despedí.
Por su parte, Manolo, no se quedó mucho más. Al llegar a la esquina, mire hacia atrás para despedirme y ya no estaba, me imagino que en esta época, donde el sol quema más que nunca, el trabajo no le falte.

Y dime: En tu ciudad exite alguna variación de los famosos Tuk Tuk? Te montarías en un Cocotaxi? Hay algún vehículo tan peculiar como el del artículo en tu ciudad? Hay algún tipo de trasnporte dedicado para turistas? Sientete libre de comentar o preguntar, estaré encantado de responder.

Hasta la próxima ... 👋


Banner


As I have mentioned in previous articles, I have been going to the Historical Center of the City a lot. Without a doubt, this area is the most touristy in the country. Tourism is extremely beneficial for the small local and non-local businesses that benefit from it, as we will see in today's case.


I often cross paths with people who work along my daily route. Just a few blocks before reaching my destination, I always encounter a middle-aged gentleman who appears to be a taxi driver, thanks to his bright yellow uniform with the word 'taxi' prominently displayed on the left corner. But he's not just any taxi driver, as you'll soon find out. Every morning, as he gets ready to start his day, he greets me with a warm smile and infectious enthusiasm. We've never exchanged more than a brief hello until the other day...

After completing my work in the Historical Center, I decided to enjoy a peaceful pasta lunch in a nearby park - until Manolo, the taxi driver, arrived. He didn't seem to mind that I was eating, and sat down in front of me saying, 'Let's chat a bit, I'm bored.' Despite not knowing each other, I welcomed the opportunity to have a more social meal. In order to eat and make Manolo feel welcome, I asked him about his taxi because he drives a Cocotaxi - a unique and popular mode of transportation in Cuba.


What exactly is a Cocotaxi uh? In short, it's the Cuban version of Tuk Tuks - a fun and unique way to explore Havana. Inspired by the Asian Tuk Tuks, the Cocotaxi has a distinct Cuban twist - shaped like an egg, painted bright yellow with green accents, and named after its resemblance to a coconut. It's a popular mode of transportation for tourists and locals alike and offers a fun way to experience the city's sights and sounds. Before we continue with Manolo's story, take a look at the photo below and see what you think - to some, it may look like abstract art, while others might see an egg or a coconut.

A Cocotaxi


Cocotaxis are tricycles with double seats at the back for passengers, and the driver's seat at the front. They are built on the chassis of Piaggio APE 703 and some of the newer models use APE 50 chassis. Their unique shape is achieved by using fiberglass. Cocotaxis are mainly used for tourism, as the cost of a ride is not affordable for locals. However, there was a time when an exception was made.
----
In this article, you'll discover the fascinating history of Cocotaxis through the eyes of a driver who has become a regular lunch companion of mine, despite never taking me further than the corner.

As the old saying goes, "If you want a man to talk non-stop, ask him about his car" and that's exactly what I did with Manolo.

Image provided by Manolo for this article


-Manolo, why do you drive a Cocotaxi? (Short questions as I wanted to finish my pasta)
Without thinking too much about it... Well son, I would have preferred to stay at home in peace, but this is a good source of income for my family. Being able to charge in dollars makes it very convenient for the reality we live in. (Point for Manolo - it's true that those who can receive dollars through remittances or charge in dollars can live a little better than those who don't.) Manolo took a moment to think (or at least, I imagine he did, as I was still focused on my plate of pasta)...But then he added, 'What's more important to me is meeting new people every day. In fact, I gave a tour to some tourists from Madagascar yesterday - like the movie, I didn't even know where that country was located, but luckily, the internet is my best friend.' (I had to stop eating because I was about to choke on my laughter.) 'With the little English that I know, I've even made some friends - despite not being someone who talks much.(are you sure about that, Manolo? I thought to myself).

Manolo's curiosity for Cocotaxis began when he first laid eyes on them in the 1990s. He recalls, 'Ever since I saw these taxis, I was drawn to driving them. It was something that caught my attention and sparked my curiosity.' At the time, he was working as a security guard at a dollar store and was eager to ride in one of the iconic vehicles. Since they were mainly used by tourists, the only way for him to experience a ride was to become a driver himself. Fortunately, a friend leaving the country left him with his Cocotaxi, allowing him to pursue his passion. However, getting authorization to drive it was a headache.

Photo taken by my father. 2017

Cocotaxis were specifically designed to provide an affordable means of transportation for tourists around Havana & Varadero cities, where public transportation has never been a strong suit. As tourists are not accustomed to the challenges of local transportation, Cocotaxis were a practical solution then and continue to be today. During the Special Period, a time of fuel shortages in Cuba, all streets were converted to one-way to conserve fuel. As the country began to open up to tourism, there was a need for a way to transport tourists around the city. Tourists, mostly unaccustomed to the heat and sun of Cuba, were surprised by the arrival of the 'yellow eggs' - a term coined by Manolo's children when they first saw the Cocotaxis.

"Listen, son," Manolo said to me, wanting my full attention. "Think about it - the streets of Havana are narrow and crowded with people". You don't need speed here, you need skill, and the Cocotaxi is perfect way to explore the local streets. In the back, tourists can take in the whole panorama, enjoying the cool breeze from the Malecón and the views of Havana without getting sunburned or tired - pure enjoyment. And up front, it's just me driving like I'm on a motorcycle, calmly giving our visitors a good history lesson.

-I also got a history lesson without even riding in the Cocotaxi-


Image provided by Manolo for this article

Another advantage of these vehicles is their low fuel consumption. Piaggio vehicles are historically known for being very efficient. Before starting his new career, modifications were made at the workshops - one of them being the use of plastic or fiberglass bodywork, which makes them lighter and more efficient. Manolo told me that he had not suffered from the recent fuel crisis like other drivers thanks to the efficiency of his Cocotaxi

Manolo shared that his first Cocotaxi was a pedal-powered model, like a bicycle (I couldn't believe what he was telling me, it's a shame he didn't have any photos of that model). He would arrive home sweaty and hungry, heading straight to the bathroom. Fortunately, they later changed it to the one you see now

Photo taken by my father. 2017


When I was a child, I remember seeing some black Cocotaxis on the streets. I brought this up, while talking to my new lunch companion and asked him about them.

The taxi driver explained to me that those black Cocotaxis were introduced to improve public transportation for locals. However, the idea didn't work out very well, mainly due to the earnings disparity between local and tourist drivers. As he explained, nobody wanted to drive for locals when they could earn much more with tourists - which is understandable.
Interestingly, a small fleet of Chinese electric tricycles is currently being deployed in Havana to cover routes of less than 10 km. Will the same thing happen to them as with the Cocotaxis? Only time will tell in the coming years.

Manolo tells me that he had no complaints about that division. Although he was assigned to the tourist side, he would take both locals and tourists. If he had the opportunity to pick up some locals and make some money, he would do so before going after his tourists. More than once, he ran out of fuel due to miscalculations. He says, 'I'm good at driving but terrible at doing math.


"Don't even get me started on fares" Manolo said. He explained that the fares are variable and are not regulated or controlled by anyone. In his case, he charges by the hour and you can rent his Cocotaxi to go wherever you want during that time. However, his colleagues have different ways of charging fares, but he sticks to what works for him.

Although Manolo never let me have a peaceful lunch, and never has since, I really enjoyed our conversation. These vehicles have been present since my earliest memories, but because I didn't find them useful in my reality, I never thought they had a history. However, getting to know their unique story from such an interesting person like Manolo made me appreciate them more.

Manolo's Cocotaxi seen from behind


While we were talking, Manolo had to turn down two requests from tourists who approached him for a ride. I appreciated his consideration towards me. Feeling a bit guilty for taking up his time, I thanked him for his company and said goodbye. For his part, Manolo did not stick around much longer. When I looked back to say goodbye at the corner, he was already gone. I imagine that during this time when the sun is hotter than ever, he is kept very busy with work.

And tell me, does your city have any variation of the famous Tuk Tuk? Would you ride in a Cocotaxi? Is there any vehicle as unique as the one in the article in your city? Is there any dedicated transportation for tourists? Feel free to comment or ask, I'd be happy to answer.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now