My California - Snow Summit


Snow Summit Cover.jpg

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @thesocalhive I headed up to the mountains for a day of snowboarding at ...

Snow Summit!!

socalhive divider.png

The mountains here in Southern California have been getting a good amount of snow so far this winter. And when that happens I gotta get out there for some snowboarding. So this last week I made the drive up to Big Bear for a day of boarding at Snow Summit! I got up there just after the mountain opened, but the parking lot was already packed and I had to park in one of the overflow lots and take a shuttle to the base of the mountain. Once I got off the shuttle I headed over to use the bathroom, but then when I came out I realized that my phone wasn't in my pocket! I double checked the bathroom and didn't see it so I figured I must have dropped it on the shuttle bus. So I waited for the bus to return so I could check it. I got on the bus and asked the driver if anyone had turned it in to him, but no luck. As the bus started driving I checked the seats around where I had been previously sitting and still no luck. But luckily there was a couple other guys on the bus who noticed that I was looking for something and they offered to let me use their phone to call mine, and when I did someone answered! It was the Snow Summit security and they told me they had it at the lost and found office. What a relief! So the bus driver took me back up to the mountain and I was able to get my phone from the security. So with all that I ended up getting a later start than I wanted to, but I still had lots of time. And thank goodness because the snow coverage was great and pretty much every run on the mountain was open!


IMG_20230125_105033.jpg
Snow Summit trail map

My goal for the day was to ski all over the whole mountain. I started by riding up chair 1 from the base of the mountain and then moving my way west across the mountain. First a warm up run down the Miracle Mile run. Then taking chair 2, then chair 3 for a few runs, and then chair 9 the westernmost chair for a few runs. After that I started moving my way back east. My favorite run on the west side was 'Ego Trip' so I did a few laps on that before heading back down to chair 1 at the base of the mountain.


IMG_20230125_104122.jpg
Riding up chair 1


IMG_20230125_104237.jpg
Riding up chair 1


image.png
View of Mt. San Gorgonio from the top of chair 1


image.png
Views from upper 'Miracle Mile'


image.png
Views from lower 'Miracle Mile'


image.png
In line at chair 2


image.png
At the top of chair 2


image.png
Overlooking the bottom of chair 3 from 'Ego Trip'


image.png
Riding up chair 3 with the 'Ego Trip' run on the left


image.png
Selfie on chair 3


image.png
Views from chair 9


image.png
The bottom of chair 9

From chair 1 I kept moving east across the mountain. I started by heading down Dicky's run, which ended up being the roughest run of the day, to chair 6. I rode chair 6 for awhile hitting 'The Wall' and 'Olympic' runs. From there I moved on to chair 7 which is probably my favorite chair at Snow Summit. While chair 6 actually has the steepest runs, and I do really like those, they are kinda short. Chair 7 is still relatively steep, but the runs are much longer and there is usually hardly anyone riding chair 7 so there is almost never a line to get on. I did a bunch of runs on upper 'Log Chute', 'Timber Ridge', and '7 Down'. And then headed back over to chair 6 for a few last steep short runs there before making my last run down lower 'Log Chute' back down to the bottom of the mountain.


image.png
Heading up chair 1 from the base of the mountain


image.png
Views from chair 1


image.png
Getting on chair 6

image.png

Views from the top of 'The Wall'


image.png
Looking down '7 Down'


image.png
Looking up 'Timber Ridge'


image.png
Selfie on chair 7


image.png
Overlooking the base of the mountain on my final run down lower 'Log Chute'


image.png
Skier statue at the base

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


Snowsummit thanks.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalHive is building and supporting the Hive Blockchain community in Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Hive, we'd love for you to follow us @theSoCalHive and join our group on Discord

socalhive divider.png



Dividerbar.jpg

SGS_banne2022.png

Dividerbar.jpg

zXaVgJDmMV8O9oYEAmBan.jpg
Dividerbar.jpg

pinmapple banner.png

[//]:# (!pinmapple 34.22334 lat -116.89160 long Snow Summit d3scr)
Pinmapple

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency