Every New Day Is A Miracle!

There are some certain questions that when asked, you do not need to think twice before answering them, and this week's
question from the #memoirmonday initiative by @ericvancewalton is one of them.

Do you believe in miracles?

Asking if I believe in miracles is just like asking if I believe that God truly exist. As a Christian, it will be an error if I do not believe in miracles. It wouldn't tell well of my Christian faith, If I say that.

But come to think of it, why would one not believe in miracles, when they are everywhere and we see them happen every second? Even the life you have is a miracle.

I always say that

waking up to witness the brightness and beauty of the day is the greatest miracle that I cannot fathom.


That I am #aliveandthriving today is a miracle because there have been occurrences which would have sent Mr to the great beyond and I would have been long forgotten, and you wouldn't have come to know me on Hive. But all came to naught. I will share one or two of it with you.

In 2001, I and my nephew escaped being electrocuted to death. This is what happened. I needed to boil water for bath, so after filling the bucket with water, I proceeded to plug boiling ring into the socket, a socket that wasn't well fitted into the wall, lol. It was actually exposing the screws that were used to tighten it on the wall. I was carrying my nephew of about seven months, who was crying and wouldn't let another person, not even the mom, carry him.

So while consoling him and at the same time trying to plug the boiling ring, I missed the socket and the next thing I was lying on the floor, tightly holding the socket and taking in all electric currents that passed through it. I couldn't shout for help because I was loosing it, all I could do was to keep muttering.

No, I shall not die, I shall live.

When the electric current caught me, I didn't know when I threw my nephew far away from me. Luckily he didn't crawl up to where I was so I can carry him but just sat there crying and pointing at me. Maybe he understood what was happening because but couldn't do anything other than to cry.

I guess God heard my prayers because even as I was confessing that I won't die, I was also telling him not to allow my nephew crawl to me. I needed him to be safe first while I pray for help to come quickly.


I can't really say how long I lay there all I could remember was that I was losing consciousness. And all of a sudden I heard my name. At first the voice was low but the second one came so loud and immediately I opened my eyes. I looked at everyone surrounding me, mom and my sister were all in tears. My nephew had stopped crying and was carried by his dad. I felt pain my palms, looking, I saw my middle finger where the screw pierced was dripping with blood, a sign that I was alive.


Dad carried me up, laid me on the couch and administered first aid to the wound, while my sister brought a cup of malt and milk mixture for me (the belief here is that such mixture gives blood.😅)

I gulped it down after which I was asked to rest. When I might have rested, I asked how they saw me, and was told that it was my nephew's cries that alerted them. Mom had called me several times to know what was happening but when I didn't answer, she came to find out for herself and then saw me. She raised alarm which attracted everyone, dad rushed to the control switch and turned it off. After that they all came close and started calling my name to revive me.


If this isn't a miracle, what then will you call it?

The first miracle was stopping my nephew from crawling to where I was, because if he had gotten to me, he would have been electrocuted immediately being that he was still a baby.

Another one was his loud cries which alerted my family members to see that I was in danger.

Next was that mom took control of herself and didn't rush to touch me in a bid to help me, which would have put her in danger too. The normal mom I know would have done so on a good day, hehehe.

The final miracle was that I survived the electrocution.

That was my first near death experience and it is a wonder. Even as I narrate it now, I can feel goose pimples all over me.


I have shared a post here how we almost lost mom some years ago. She was rushed to the hospital after passing out during one of her crises one night and on getting there, the nurses on duty refused attending to her because she was almost cold. As she was being taken to another hospital, the matron who was on duty that night met them at the gate and luckily she was a family friend and knew mom's case. Immediately she took charge of the whole situation, called the doctor and received directions on what to do. Her being there that night and swift action saved mom's life, because mom wouldn't have made it to the next hospital. That is a miracle.


Or would I even talk about how dad narrowly escaped being pressed to death by his own vehicle the day I was born. He said he was driving home so he can take mom to the hospital but along the way, the car developed faults and wouldn't start again. He checked the battery, ignition and all what nots, yet no way. He went under to check if the fault was from there and while at it, the car started rolling backwards, before he could get out, one of the tyres brushed his legs. After rolling a few steps, it stopped again. Dad just locked it up and made his way home. The car was later towed to the mechanic workshop. Another miracle in my family.


I understand that there are some persons who do not believe in the existence of God, the creator or even in miracles. That is fine as we all are wired differently and believe in different things. But I want you to know that it doesn't matter whether you reading this do not believe in miracles, what matters is that miracle is real and so many people believe in it, including I.


So this is me saying

I BELIEVE IN MIRACLES, EVERYDAY.

Thank you for reading...

Still the #threadsaddict 😂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now