The Wonderful World of Routine: Dreemport Challenge

coffee-869203_1920.jpg

Source: Foundry on Pixabay

The Wonderful World of Routine: How I Survived the Pandemic

As the COVID-19 pandemic hit the U.S. in March of 2020 and our shops and businesses closed down, I was on vacation in the Dominican Republic. I was on a beach, enjoying the sun, hanging out with my kids and our friends, and enjoying buffet meals of delicious seafood. The nagging concern that we might not be allowed to return to the U.S. was completely assuaged by afternoons at the pool, long walks on sun-warmed sand, and a nice cocktail or glass of wine whenever I wanted one.

IMG_3366.jpg

When we got back on the plane and returned home, however, I was ready for routine. Ready to go back to the office, show off my tan, catch up on a week’s worth of email and see my colleagues.

That never happened. The office had closed. For the foreseeable future, we would be working remotely. I thought it might last a few months. Six at the most. It has been 18 months so far.

I had no idea we would be working from home for this long, but I had decided at the beginning that I was not going to work in my pajamas or lose my sense of structure and purpose.

So I created a routine for myself. I got up each morning at about the same time, took a shower and dressed as if I was going to the office. I put on make-up. I made a nice fragrant cup of coffee and a good breakfast. Then I went to my computer, and launched my work day. I put in a full day of work, just like always.

laptop-336378_640.jpg
Source: Free-Photos on Pixabay

I believe this choice has kept me from feeling despair. I’ve stayed positive. I’ve kept up with all of my work, stayed closely connected to my colleagues, and have even achieved some great things for my company during this time.

Looking back, I believe that establishing a daily routine is the best decision I could have made. I’m sharing this in case it helps others. If something feels missing or off-kilter, try improving your daily routine. You might find it to be very uplifting. It might even bring you joy.

Try this. Wake up with the sun. Really enjoy that first warm beverage of the day and then launch your routine. Do this daily, with joy and intention. Rinse and repeat. I can't promise you that it will do for you what it did for me, but it's worth a try! Take care of yourself and stay positive!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for reading! This is my entry for week three of the #dreemportchallenge. You can read about it here. But if you're going to participate, don't delay. Today's the day.

As always, when I use the #thoughtfuldailypost tag, I want to give a shout-out to Mr. @wesphilbin who helps us all keep it real. You can subscribe to the Thoughtful Daily Post Community here.

And another shout-out to @dreemsteem, one of the best motivators on the platform and the mastermind behind the #DreemPort community. Check out the post about the preferred platform banner here.

Favorite Hive Blogging Platform(s)

As for me, I post using both Peakd and Actifit depending on my purpose (Actifit daily from my phone to share activity and thoughts about the day, and Peakd for all other posts). I find Peakd to be very simple and intuitive. Just a note to all you lovely Ecency people, I always change ecency links over to peakd or hiveblog links; otherwise I have to log in again to upvote your posts!

PeakDbannerimage.png
All DreemPort images are created by @jimramones and are only to be used with permission from DreemPort


decorative-green-arrow-5293043.png

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Divider image from Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency