Papa Regena?

Being from the East Coast one of my favorite Spanish snacks is called papa regena. For me it was a fried potato ball stuffed with ground beef. I've enjoyed them whenever possible throughout the years. Yet after stopping at La Papas restaurant I've gained a whole new appreciation for a papas regena.

After running some errands and visiting family my dad decided to stop and get something to eat. So we pulled into La Papa restaurant. My dad would come here with his dad. As for me it was my first time.

So I looked at the menu, and I thought to myself a stuffed potato ball sounds pretty good. I mean I guess I could order a couple of them to hold me over.

I began to suspect that maybe I didn't fully understand what I was ordering. When my the lady in the kitchen asked me what I wanted in my potato. The hint fell in singular use of the word potato.

My experience of a papa regena until then was of deep fried mash potato ball that I could hold in my hand while eating it. It was more of snack, not really a meal. So I asked about the portion size, and though I still didn't fully understand. I took it on faith that one was enough.

I've clearly never had a true papa regena. It was delicious, and one was more then enough. As we ate I silently reflected on my misunderstanding. Amusing myself with imagined reactions to my mistakingly ordering more then one potato. I realize now it's basically a stuffed potato, it just took a while to process in my head.

All photos used in this blog are mine and we're taken using my one plus 7 pro

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now