DEATH IS INEVITABLE - BE PREPARED

"WHAT WOULD YOU DO IF YOU HAD A WEEK LEFT TO LIVE?”

“I wonder what came to your mind as you read that question. Were you intrigued immediately? Did you wonder why I asked? Or have you started answering the question in your mind?

grave-2036220__480.jpg
source
If you are a fan of medical series/movies, perhaps, you’d have watched one too many scenes where the doctors had to break such news to their patients.

“I’m sorry to say this, Mr. Snow, but I have bad news. Your tumor has aggressively progressed, and it’s not looking good. I’m afraid you don’t have much time left.”

Mr. Snow, eyes gray with sadness, chapped lips downturned, bald head bowed, voice weary from the strain of such terrible illness, would ask, “How long, Doctor? Tell me. I can take it, I promise.”

“Give or take, two months,” the doctor would answer. “Is there anything you’d like to do? Is there anyone you’d like me to call for you?”

Often times than not, Mr. Snow would have a request, or several to make. And then, in many cases, as he begins to come to terms with the fact that he’d soon bid this world adieu, he begins to have regrets.

Thoughts of the life he had led, as opposed to the life he could have led, would begin to flood his mind. Perhaps, in that short time left, Mr. Snow would hope to do those things he wished he had done while he had strength in him,while he had health, while he had time.
ornate.gif

Here is another question I find interesting;

"WOULD YOU LIKE TO KNOW WHEN YOU WOULD DIE?”

As we go on, I’d like you to ponder upon this and answer in your minds. I still haven’t been able to get an answer myself and I have been asking for years now. Would I like to know? Or would I not?
autumn-2785954__340.webp
source
In disfavor, I’d hate to live with a cloud of darkness over my head. The knowledge of an impending doom. I fear it would take away the joy I could have, living in blissful ignorance, carefree as a child with no thought of the worries that plague this world.

However, in favor, and many would agree with me if their answer is YES, that it would be nice to know just how much time one has left, in order to be able to live right. Or shall I say, just LIVE.
ornate.gif
Early last year, the entire world as we know was wrought with the pandemic, COVID-19. Great nations were brought to their knees, economies wrecked. Millions of lives were lost across the globe and the only way we could save ourselves and others, was to remain in our homes.

coronavirus-4888641__480.webp
source
There were thousands of testimonies as the lockdown continued. People confessing to now realizing what truly matter - priorities and all. Profound appreciation for life itself and the things we so often take for granted, became a common faith.

Many came to see that it is entirely possible to work from home and serve whatever deity we happen to believe in, right in our living rooms - week-in, week-out. Others found more gratitude for the ability to walk in the sun, breathe in fresh air, watch waves rise and crash upon the sea, while orange and golden hues of setting sun strewn across the sky stand the loveliest sight to behold.

We found how wonderful it is to be able to shake hands, hug, just sit on the pavement and watch the streets filled with busy people going about their daily lives, take a walk in the park, sit in the restaurant or get some work-time in at that favorite coffee spot.

The littlest things suddenly became so huge and the seemingly big things, became small.

In the scenes I’ve painted thus far, one thing remains common: when faced with death or the thought of it- what really matters become clear. The desire to do the things we truly love, just before we say goodbye is awakened.
ornate.gif
Unfortunately, many are not so lucky. Some people go to sleep with plans for the morrow and pass away in dreamfulness. Some others step out in the morning with thoughts of what to do upon their return later in the day, but never make it back home.

In the case of “sudden death", where it was never seen coming, many never had the time to get their priorities right and live better before answering the call of the grim reaper. In their last moments, I wonder if they had regrets, "had-I-know and how-I-wish".

1607558167-20791.jpg
source
I wonder if they desired so desperately for another chance to make things right or maybe just one thing- just one thing they could have done if they’d been aware of how much little time they had left.

Sadly, this is a sorrow that weighs even the lightest of hearts down, dimming the brightest of spirits, dampening the loftiest of souls. Alas, for how diverse humanity is, ranging from race to tribe, ethnicity, culture, societal status, pedigree, profession, net worth and individual experiences, one thing we all have in common is death. We shall die.

Every moment that passes while we draw breath, takes us a step closer to the time of our final farewells. No, I do not mean to scare you with the gong of impending doom like a town crier, warning the villagers of their King’s wrath. Rather, I seek to encourage you, myself, anyone who comes across this...DEATH IS INEVITABLE!

This is my entry to the #dreemportchallenge. Thanks for visiting my blog. Happy #thoughtfultuesday, stay safe and remain blessed.

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQAryn18AYKd59KjAziHKsQf5HX3K4zmuBJ7DoiU4KnL7wfYFbnQq1HroFAzyJtyyo438iQLL3rus5wgRCtBKtbRqYH6rB2sW7HSFuXG3uQpyA12vygxBvv.png
YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQAryn18AYKd59KjAziHKsQGJv7hSskFoN5ooZDjnGV4FfN1A159YkekkVBsMCaxtsJXTQVehksg9qbUEF9z9meF4DXcXnM7UvkREFYKHsCwqPcLh8GYmRY.png

DreemPort images are properties of @dreemport and were created by @jimramones.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency