Underworld - Lightpainting on Hive

img_0.48960292248341747.jpg

Good evening everyone and I hope your day has been awesome. I'm now well into my second week off work and loving the extra family time.

Here's another shot from the Singing Ringing Tree overlooking the town of Burnley. For this one I mounted my camera rotation tool on my tripod as I knew it would look really cool with a 180 flip.


I started by calibrating the tool ensuring the bottom of the tree sat in the middle of the frame. This ensures the two halves of the exposure would join seamlessly.

Once happy I fired the shutter and got cracking with the lighting. Torch light blasted from the left hitting Phill's back and the tree. I had to try not to light any of the ground as this would bleed into the other half of the frame. Next I went behind Phill and created his silhouette using the www.lightpaintingbrushes.com orange filter and my trusy net curtain. Once happy I returned to the camera, replaced the lens cap and rotated the camera 180 degrees.

I remove the lens cap and repeat the whole process trying to ensure I have the exact same exposure and lighting as the first half.


I knew before I arrived I wanted to rotate this art installation and I'm really happy with how it turned out.


Cheers to Phill for holding so still and for being a good sport as always.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency