Keep Focus - Lightpainting on Hive

img_0.5836657027386855.jpg

Good afternoon Hiveworld and I hope you are all keeping well and enjoying the weekend.

Here's one @fastchrisuk and I created in our favourite Lime Kiln on the Monsal Trail in the Peak District.

I dismissed it when I first saw it as I had failed to change focus between the elements. Looking now I don't think it's too noticeable.


Firstly on tripod number 1 I framed up a hole in the wall and worked on the cross lighting, ensuring the hole sat perfectly in the middle of the frame. I used a red and blue light source and shone the light obliquely across the surface of the wall. This brings out all the indications and textures so well creating a really crisp and contrasty quality of light. My favourite.... See below.

img_0.08374972003262375.jpg


Once happy I set up tripod number two. Far enough away from where I was to stand so I would fit in the dead space left over from the hole in the wall on tripod 1. I had my Digital Light Wand with me with a pattern saved to the memory card. I stood still whilst Chris drew it up from the floor behind me and walked it out of the frame. I wanted the light from behind me to exit the hole in the wall thus tying both elements together. Prior to the Wand sweep Chris popped my flash remotely from behind me for a rim light and fill. See below...

img_0.19093510790943338.jpg


Once happy with both elements it was time to put it together into a single long exposure. Tripod 1 and fired the shutter, cross light the wall and lens cap on. Swap to tripod 2 and change focus (badly) before I took up position, held still, Chris removed the lens cap and fired the flash. Finally he made his way behind me and swept toe DLW behind me and out past the camera. Happy days.


All shot during a single long exposure in complete darkness somewhere deep in the English Countryside.

You can tell my silhouette isn't very sharp but overall I'm quite happy with how it turned out. A revisit is in order...probably in May when we are allowed to travel a little further. I've never been so excited to get back out into the darkness. Be it to do some light painting or to just go to the pub with the boys for a face to face catch up.


I hope you enjoyed my little write up and that it has given you a little insight into what we get up to once the sun goes down.

Take care, stay safe and well and enjoy the rest of the weekend.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency