Hotspot - Lightpainting on Hive

img_0.47488558848463874.jpg

Good afternoon Hiveworld and I hope you are all well and keeping safe.

It's been way too long since I last got out into the darkness with my camera and way way too long since I got out with Chris T. Last night was the night and within 10 minutes of sending Chris a text we were on our way to Padley Gorge.

The weatherman was spot on with a prediction of clear skies and no wind. Perfect conditions to get into the woodland and do some light painting.

The lack of wind is advantageous when using a continuous light source as it would create blur when the wind blows but last night it was beautifully still.


I started by walking the the end of the path and illuminating the background with a super bright torch paired with an orangey red filter. I knew this would work well as the blue hour sky is....well just so blue :) Those colours just work so well together.

Once I had given the background a blast for 20 to 30 seconds I walked back to the camera with my back light scanner.

This is a tool which when paired with a torch illuminates the surroundings whilst concealing the light source from the camera. I walked along the path in the darkness slowly lighting the pathway as I went.


All shot during a single long exposure in complete darkness.


Cheers to Chris for a nice catch up and looking forward to getting out together once again.


Cheers for looking and I hope you enjoyed the image. I think there is a certain air of mystery and magic captured here and I look forward to doing some more of these.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency