Deja Vu - Lightpainting on Hive

img_0.02009043123906681.jpg

Good evening Hiveworld and I hope your day has been epic. Mine has been great if not a little on the warm side. Mustn't grumble though.


Here's a shot from a while back I created on a trip out to Fountains Abbey in North Yorkshire. It's such an amazing place filled with beautiful architecture and history.


When I arrived I took myself off to a culvert which runs straight under the Abbey as it was quiet and more importantly, really dark. Perfect.


I had an idea to expose the tunnel scene and then cap the lens pack up and find a suitable and ornate door or window to fame it all. I wondered about for a while and found this 3 arched wall and blind framed it. Cap off and let the arches burn in for a couple of seconds.
When I first arrived at the tunnel I set up the camera and had to walk 20 or so meters into the tunnel. There was a recess in the ceiling where a pigeon was nesting for the night. He flew out and straight into my flash stand which I was holding. On my return home I was pleased to find that my trousers didn't need changing. I can't believe I didn't actually shit myself. I've just about calmed back down again.


img_0.18672561233801196.jpg

Later on that night whilst exploring I found this tree next to the Abbey and I knew what I wanted to do.


My all time fave lp shot is LED Eddie's double with the tunnel and a tree, when I first set eyes on it, it made my head hurt whilst staring in awe. Cheers for the inspiration buddy.
Lots of faffing to get me in the right place in the frame stood in the culvert. I fired the shutter which fired the flash and replaced the lens cap. I walked to the tree, blind framed it and rotated the cam 180 degrees. I lit the tree with the Led lensee followed by a couple of full power pops of flash from behind and let the ambient light do the rest. Close but no cigar and no try again as if you move you lose where tunnels are concerened :)
I will be exploring this idea again but with better prep and two tripods.


Fingers crossed they do another event here this Autumn so I can get back and create some more magic.


I hope you enjoyed these two and as always if you have any questions about these or any of my work please feel free to ask.....there are no secrets here.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency