Blue Hour - Lightpainting on Hive

img_0.8790404583916797.jpg

Good morning world and I hope all is well with you and yours. Here's a throwback to a stunning evening up at the top of Winnats Pass in the beautiful Peak District. I got up there before sunset and I remember the other photographers there looking at me funny as my camera was pointing in the opposite direction to the sunset. That's not what I was there for, I was there for some traffic trails during blue hour.

I took loads of shots from this pov which were ok. I was constantly looking back up the hill to see any signs of headlights coming so I could prepare to fire the shutter. I had resigned myself to the images I had already captured then out of the corner of my eye I saw a blue light approaching from around the corner. I fired the shutter then Mountain Rescue came flying down the road with their blue lights on. I knew this would illuminate the sides of the pass with a vibrant blue whilst their super bright headlamps would bring all the awesome textures wherever they shone.

Once they had passed I took my Skyray light and illuminated the foreground to lift the shadows....job done.


Winnats is surely one of my favourite places to photograph as the range of compositions are endless and there is no finer place to be under clear skies morning or night.


Here are a few more I have captured over the years. I hope you enjoy.


img_0.8246832465805689.jpg


img_0.04147856979069912.jpg


Finally my favourite shot from here and not a lightpainting but rather a multi shot panorama shot with a 28mm lens on the stunning morning in 2019.

img_0.22788654298886218.jpg

Roll on the end of lockdown as I can't wait to get myself back out in such surroundings as I miss visiting places like this at night. You hardly ever see another soul and you feel like you have the place to yourself. I can't wait.


I hope you enjoyed following along on some of my journeys and here's to many more in the not too distant future.

Stay safe and well and catch you all soon.

Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency