Learning by Doing - Why I just started a community on Hive

gabriella-clare-marino-GSLA0FVY9qI-unsplash.jpg
Image Source: Photo by Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

I learn best by doing and so I decided that one of the next things I need to learn about on Hive is how to start and run a Hive Community. And, I'm excited to share that if you read through this post, you can now join that community.

I started this journey by looking to see if there was a specific type of community space that I might want to join that was missing from Hive. There are amazing communities for writers, photographers, comedy, music, and much more. What I didn't find was a community specifically about Personal Knowledge Management (aka PKM). So, I decided that when I was ready, this was the community I would create and then figure out how to begin to nurture and grow.

What is Personal Knowledge Management?

We are all bombarded by information today.

Texts, emails, web pages, television, streaming, podcasts, books. magazines, etc., etc., etc.

If you want to learn something chances are you can at least get a start at that with freely available information.

Personal knowledge management is about how you keep track of all the things you're learning and tools your finding so that you can find it again when you need it. It is a subject I am deeply passionate about.

How do you do Personal Knowledge Management?

The key word in that question is PERSONAL - it depends on you.

Do you prefer paper and ink? Great - start with a notebook and a pen where you write everything down. Approaches like the Commonplace Book or the Bullet Journal might work well for you to help you put order and structure into a written document if you find you want that.

Maybe you're a digital person. Start with free and easy to use. Google Keep is a great option to start with as is Apple Notes. From there - there are so many different apps in this space now that it is dizzying.

No matter what, always start where you are. For many people, not writing random notes on their hand or on whatever bit of scrap paper they can find is a huge leap forward to carrying one notebook with them where they always write everything down. Start with what feels right to you. A personal knowledge management system you never use is of no benefit.

So what's this community about?

My goal is that over time this community will grow to include both others who are passionate about PKM and those who want to learn about PKM and want help on that journey. And, in the process, I hope to help bring a little joy and happiness of learning to a little part of Hive.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency