[ENG|ESP] My PC: The Immortal Gaming Device


✨English✨


cover.jpg

Throughout the history of technology, there are some devices remembered for their durability, I think the example we all or almost all know is the Nokia 3310, that phone whose hardness rivals that of Thor's hammer, the only phone you drop, and if you're at home you better go looking for how you're going to repair the floor.

While normally a device doesn't need to resist bullets to be called "durable", I felt the need to make a joke with the indestructible Nokia to open the post haha, I was planning to do this post before but the last few days I've done between zero and nothing because I got sick and have been recovering since then, without much more to go into this aspect, I'm going to tell you my experience with what for me is the "immortal" device, that is, my PC.


IMG_20220719_175230.jpg

Throughout my time in Hive I've talked about lots of games as well as consoles, but I have never given its space to what is perhaps the most important device I've had in my life, with which I got lost in the vastness of the internet like never before and met many of the things that today I like.

The specifications of my pc are nothing special and in fact they are obsolete even for office equipment, it has a Pentium Dual-Core E5300 processor of 2.6 GHz and 2 GB of RAM DDR2, it had 250 GB HDD from factory but today has two disks, one of 160 GB and another 500 GB as the original died long ago, for years I defended myself with the processor and its humble integrated graphics, until about 3 years ago (more or less) a friend gave me an old graphics card that he didn't use, an Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT 1 GB, which despite also being quite obsolete, even today helps me to run many of the Indie games that come out on the market.


cpuz1.jpg


cpuz2.jpg

Power is not enough on this PC, the most I've managed to move on the pc has been the Assassin's Creed 3 or Resident Evil 6 in 800x600, if we talk about AAA games, so as I say I focus mostly on indies or emulators that can be enjoyed at a more current resolution, allowing me to play Celeste and Hollow Knight I'm more than happy truth be told.


Captura de pantalla (909).png

If I say that this pc is "immortal", I mean it in the same sense that Kratos is, because Mount Olympus can fall on him, you can pierce him with a sword, and he will still escape from the jaws of hell to continue fighting as always, in other words, it's a pc that every so often has problems of some kind, and they are problems that if I haven't solved is because I can't find such solution, for example, sometimes it doesn't want to boot, and it's not as easy as "tighten the ram", but I have to start disconnecting and reconnecting things TO SEE if it turns on again, and as I say, it always turns on, more than once it has made me believe that it would finally give up and never turning on again, only to end up turning on anyway.

I also have a laptop I bought over a year ago now but it's rare when I use it for gaming or creating content, I have it more as an alternative when my PC doesn't want to collaborate or just gets unusable (it's literally like period, it happens to it, and that's it), so eliminating the couple of things I could do on the laptop, the PC is my place for "everything", it's where I play most of my stuff, take screenshots, I edit them, and at the time the place where I recorded, edited and uploaded the gameplays, using Sony Vegas here is a real feat, besides there are many things that I simply cann't enjoy online because the PC doesn't give for so much, for example, the last few days I tried to play League of Legends while talking to @Mig1 on Discord but it has resulted in an odyssey to optimize everything to do the basics, which is to play haha.


Screen07.png

Going into operating systems, I've been using it with Windows 8 for a couple of years now, but it currently has dual boot Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, the former for most things, and the latter to connect my Guitar Hero guitar via bluetooth, I don't really use it anymore even though I love the aesthetics of W10.

Overall, it's a pc that has been loyal to me for more than half of my life, and as much as I would love to replace it with a more updated computer (I still can't do it because "reasons"), it would have seemed disrespectful not to dedicate at least, at the very least, a post to it.


Captura de pantalla (1445).png

If I had to recommend something, obviously it wouldn't be this pc, not even the graphics as you can get better options for affordable prices that even allow you to run Fortnite, like a 1GB R5 240, this is why the post is mostly based on my experience as I don't know who in their right mind would prefer a pc with random attacks haha.

But despite all the problems and hindrances I have mentioned to you, it's ultimately thanks to this pc that I've been sharing my content on this page for years so I'm very grateful to it that whenever I really need it, it has worked, and even when the time comes to move on to another pc, I'll remember it quite fondly, although for the time being I'll surely continue to require its services for another year or two, either way, thanks to the toaster.


Thanks for reading, I hope you liked it, see you around, bye bye.

All images were taken by me 📷
Translation with help of DeepL


separador v5.png


✨Español✨


cover.jpg

A lo largo de la historia de la tecnología, hay algunos dispositivos recordados por su durabilidad, creo que el ejemplo que conocemos todos o casi todos es el Nokia 3310, ese teléfono cuya dureza rivaliza con la del martillo de Thor, el único teléfono que se te cae, y si estás en tu casa mejor ve buscando cómo vas a reparar el piso.

Si bien normalmente un dispositivo no necesita resistir balas para poder ser llamado “duradero”, me veía en la necesidad de hacer un chiste con el Nokia indestructible para abrir el post haha, pensaba hacer este post antes pero los últimos días he hecho entre cero y nada porque me enfermé y me he estado recuperando desde entonces, sin mucho más que profundizar en este aspecto, voy a contarles mi experiencia con el que para mí es el dispositivo “inmortal”, es decir, mi PC.


IMG_20220719_175230.jpg

A lo largo de mi tiempo en Hive he hablado de montones de juegos así como de consolas, pero nunca le he dado su espacio al que quizá sea el aparato más importante que he tenido en toda mi vida, con el cual me perdí en la inmensidad de internet como nunca antes y conocí muchas de las cosas que a día de hoy me gustan.

Las especificaciones de mi pc no son nada del otro mundo y de hecho están obsoletas hasta para equipo de oficina, tiene un procesador Pentium Dual-Core E5300 de 2.6 GHz y 2 GB de memoria RAM DDR2, de fábrica tenía 250 GB de disco duro pero a día de hoy tiene dos discos, uno de 160 GB y otro de 500 GB ya que el original murió hace tiempo, durante años me defendía con el procesador y sus humildes gráficos integrados, hasta que hace unos 3 años (más o menos) un amigo me regaló una tarjeta gráfica vieja que no utilizaba, una Nvidia GeForce 9400 GT de 1 GB, que a pesar de también estar bastante obsoleta, aún a día de hoy me ayuda a correr buena parte de los juegos Indies que salen al mercado.


cpuz1.jpg


cpuz2.jpg

Potencia no le sobra, lo máximo que he logrado mover en la pc ha sido el Assassin’s Creed 3 o Resident Evil 6 en 800x600, si hablamos de juegos AAA, por lo que como digo me enfoco mayormente en indies o emuladores que pueden disfrutarse a una resolución más actual, con que me permita jugar a Celeste y Hollow Knight yo soy más que feliz la verdad.


Captura de pantalla (909).png

Si digo que esta pc es “inmortal”, lo digo en el mismo sentido que lo es Kratos, pues puede caerle el Monte Olimpo encima, puedes atravesarlo con una espada, y aún así escapará de las fauces del infierno para seguir dando pelea igual que siempre, dicho de otra forma, es una pc que cada cierto tiempo tiene problemas de algún tipo, y son problemas que si no he solucionado es porque no encuentro dicha solución, por ejemplo, a veces no quiere arrancar, y no es tan fácil como “apretar la ram”, sino que tengo que empezar a desconectar y reconectar cosas A VER si vuelve a encender, y como digo, siempre enciende, más de una vez me ha hecho creer que finalmente tiraría la toalla, solo para terminar encendiendo de todas formas.

También tengo una laptop que compré hace ya más de un año pero es raro cuando la utilizo para jugar o crear contenido, la tengo más como una alternativa cuando mi PC no quiere colaborar o simplemente se pone inutilizable (es literalmente como el periodo, le pasa, y ya está), por lo que eliminando el par de cosas que podría hacer en la laptop, la PC es mi lugar para “todo”, es donde juego a la mayoría de mis cosas, saco capturas, las edito, y en su momento el lugar donde grababa, editaba y subía los gameplays, utilizar Sony Vegas acá es una verdadera hazaña, aparte que hay muchas cosas que simplemente no puedo disfrutar online porque la PC no da para tanto, por ejemplo, los últimos días he intentado jugar League of Legends mientras hablo con @Mig1 por Discord pero ha resultado en una odisea por optimizar todo para poder hacer lo básico, que es jugar haha.


Screen07.png

Entrando en sistemas operativos, desde hace un par de años que la utilizo con Windows 8, pero actualmente tiene dual boot de Windows 8.1 y Windows 10, el primero para la mayoría de cosas, y el segundo para conectar mi guitarra de Guitar Hero por bluetooth, la verdad no le doy más uso a pesar de que me encanta la estética de W10.

En general, es una pc que me ha sido fiel más de la mitad de mi vida, y por mucho que me encantaría reemplazarla por un equipo más actualizado (aún no lo hago por, bueno, razones), me hubiese parecido una falta de respeto no dedicarle al menos, como mínimo, un post.


Captura de pantalla (1445).png

Si tuviera que recomendar algo, obviamente no sería esta pc, ni siquiera la gráfica pues puedes conseguir mejores opciones por precios accesibles que incluso te permitan correr Fortnite, como una R5 240 de 1 GB, es por esto que el post se basa mayormente en mi experiencia pues no sé quién en su sano juicio preferiría una pc con ataques aleatorios haha.

Pero a pesar de todos los problemas y trabas que les he mencionado, es ultimadamente gracias a esta PC que llevo años compartiendo mi contenido en esta página así que le agradezco mucho que siempre que realmente la necesito, ha funcionado, y aún cuando llegue el momento de avanzar a otra PC, la recordaré con bastante cariño, aunque por el momento seguramente siga requiriendo sus servicios un año o dos más, de cualquier forma, agradecimientos a la tostadora.


Muchas gracias por leer hasta el final, espero les haya gustado, nos vemos por ahí, bye bye.

Todas las imágenes fueron tomadas personalmente 📷

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency