2 Birds (photography contest)

img_0001.jpg


I’ve taken many pictures of birds over the last few years, not all of them great.

But the morning I encountered these pink flamingos 🦩 in Peru (Paracas) was as surreal as a waking dream.


img_0002.jpg


Here’s a wider shot of the beach to show you how fantastic it looked. Better, yet, we had the beach almost to ourselves and were able to spend time observing these graceful creatures at close range.

Since then, I’ve gone bird mad, and have become something of a pigeon fancier — raising generations of these feathered friends on my balcony.


img_0003.jpg


Some took to the sky as soon as they could fly, at one month old, and would return to visit (maybe, to groom my beard, as a thank you)


img_0004.png


Others, were like winged dogs and cats, following me around the house wherever I went.


img_9999.jpg

And while I’m introducing you to my feathered family, I would be remiss not to mention Daffy the Peacock (may he Rest In Peace) whom we lost, recently


img_0006.jpg


Here he is as a very young man, with his partner, as we transported him from Miami to DC in a 17 hour long car ride ...


img_0007.jpg


Lastly, this marvelous Moskovy duck that materialized on our 10th floor balcony, one day


img_0009.jpg


And, here she is negotiating her space with the previous tenants :)


img_0010.jpg


Thank you, @Nelinoeva and @melinda010100 for hosting and sponsoring this contest & @ocdb / @ocd for your support 🙏🏼

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency