The little birdies - Hardest to photograph! My entry for the #SMAP contest 59

“In order to see birds, it is necessary to become a part of the silence.” -Robert Lynd


blog title.png

I am often silent... Out in the woods or by the lake shore. While I introspect, walking quietly, my eyes roam around - catching glimpses of many birds. From Raptors to passerines, they come in all shapes, sizes and colors.

My camera almost involuntarily captures them.

The little birds, less than 3-4 inches in size are often the most active and most colorful.

Their constant activity, energetic darting around and flashes of heavenly colors as they fly by can cheer up even the most depressed person I think. At least, for me, it is almost like therapy to watch these little birdies and focus on capturing them forever in my camera.

Even when I am under a lot of pressure due to the issues in life in general, watching and photographing birds makes me forget all worries for those few hours.

So, I was naturally very happy when @nelinoeva posed a challenge to show small birds. This is a tough challenge though. Imagine capturing a 2" target that darts around without spending even 2 seconds in one place in the camera.

Aiming a telephoto lens and focusing it is an extreme challenge within those 1-2 seconds. Therefore, I am very happy when I get a nice picture of a small bird. Here are a few I have taken recently

Wire-tailed swallow

This small birds is very pretty but it is next to impossible to get it sitting down. It is always swooping around. If it sits, it usually sits on electric poles or wires. I was lucky to get it sitting on a wooden pole in such beautiful surroundings.


FBL-DS1_1954_DxO-SA_PS-1080 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg


Black naped monarch

This cute small bird with a dazzling blue color and an interesting nape is always in shadows and high up in the canopy of trees in the jungle. I tried for hours one day to capture it at eye level by climbing on rocks and other trees! I was lucky to get a low key and high key image of two different monarchs.

The low key image


FBL-DS1_1727_DxO-SA_PS-1080 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg

The High key image


FBL-DS1_1711_DxO-SA_PS-1080 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg

Purple sunbird - My entry for the #SMAP contest no, 59

Purple sunbirds are small interesting birds that constantly forage for nectar in flowers and also snack on spiders that lurk near the flowers. I was lucky to get this one almost posing for me with a flower 😀


FBL-DS1_2973_DxO-SA_PS-F INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg

Hope you enjoyed a glimpse of the smallest of the birdies that I have captured in the camera.

Have a great day.

A big thank you for support

Thanks to c/hive-106444 (Feathered friends community) for providing this wonderful opportunity to present my experience and photographs. Thanks to @barbara-orenya and @melinda010100 for all the support and encouragement to this community. Special thanks to @nelinoeva also for starting the Species hunt initiative. My posts are not exactly in that format but have all the necessary info and Good original Photos. Further guidance will be very much welcome.

Thanks to HIVE for this wonderful platform. Thanks also to @adalger and @dna.org for encouraging me by recognizing some of my posts as worthy of Densifying nature project.
Further, thanks to Amazing nature community for welcoming me and showing me their love on some of my posts.


Note: All images and collages in this blog are created by me, based on photos clicked by me personally and/or free vector images from Pixabay. Any other sources, if used, are indicated as image credits below the picture.
Quotes used, if not credited, are either from unknown authors or are proverbial old sayings.


2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

ecotrain.png

the alliance logo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency