Birds on a wire - My entry for SMAP contest #63


“Like a bird on a wire, like a drunk in a midnight choir, I have tried in my way to be free!!”
— Leonard Cohen


Well - we can't really perch like birds on a wire without frying our A$$ I guess so all we can do is to watch them and photograph them 😀

I typically do NOT photograph birds on wires or in general, any man made objects. I prefer to have them in a more natural setting like a tree branch or a bush. It is difficult to get birds on a wire with a nice green natural background too.

However, sometimes, the beauty of the bird and the background just overcomes my natural instincts and I end up taking the shot even when the bird is on a wire...


blog title.png

I am going to share those rare instances where I have photographed birds on a wire.

First it happened in this case with a Red-rumped swallow. After a frustrating day filled with heavy rain, I was headed home without even a click. Rain had just started letting up but I was out of time. I was cruising back in a morose mood with my buddies in the car when we suddenly spotted this Red-rumped swallow, sitting on barbed fencing wire. It was just too beautiful - the swallow's colors, the green fields background and the rain drops formed an irresistible frame...


FBL-_DSC5253_DxO_PS FB 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg
Red-rumped swallow braving barbed wire in rain...
My entry for #SMAP contest round 63
My own click

I also photograph birds on a wire if it is an unusual species for our region or if it is a pretty colorful bird. In the case of this Blue capped thrush, this is what happened. I saw the bird near a forest reserve but it was sitting on a wire. I clicked this shot that shows off the bird and all it's bright plumage...


DS1_2837 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg
Blue capped thrush on a wire - hard to ignore beauty!
My own click

The pretty contrast of Orange and blue, lined with black was too good to let go just because the beauty was perched on a wire! To not photograph it would have been like ignoring a pretty lady just because she was sitting in a rickety chair. 😀

It was the same case when I saw a Common Kingfisher sitting on a synthetic wire which was probably a clothing line. The bird and background were too lovely and I could not resist taking this frame...


DS1_2235 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg
Common kingfisher - A colorful fur ball balancing on a line!
My own click

The Kingfisher, with it's fluffed up look, looked so much like a ball that I felt it will topple off the wire at any instant!! 😀😀

Last but not the least, how can I forget this lovely bunch of green bee-eaters, cutely cuddling for warmth on a cold winter morning...


Green bee-eaters cuddling for warmth on a wire
My own click

Hope you enjoyed seeing the birds on wire and got some inspiration to be free... like Leonard Cohen mentions in his poem quoted above.

Cheers everyone - have a great day.

A big thank you for support

Thanks to c/hive-106444 (Feathered friends community) for providing this wonderful opportunity to present my experience and photographs. Thanks to @barbara-orenya and @melinda010100 for all the support and encouragement to this community. Special thanks to @nelinoeva also for starting the Species hunt initiative. My posts are not exactly in that format but have all the necessary info and Good original Photos. Further guidance will be very much welcome.

Thanks to HIVE for this wonderful platform. Thanks also to @adalger and @dna.org for encouraging me by recognizing some of my posts as worthy of Densifying nature project.
Further, thanks to Amazing nature community for welcoming me and showing me their love on some of my posts.


Note: All images and collages in this blog are created by me, based on photos clicked by me personally and/or free vector images from Pixabay. Any other sources, if used, are indicated as image credits below the picture.
Quotes used, if not credited, are either from unknown authors or are proverbial old sayings.


2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

ecotrain.png

the alliance logo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency