Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 136

The Downy Woodpeckers are a delight to observe
when they are feeding.
Most often we see them eating suet from the feeder or pecking away at trees looking for insects. But, on this day I observed this male Downy eating the pedals from a hanging impatiens basket.
IMG_3082 (1).JPG

At first, I thought that it was mimicking the feeding habits of a hummingbird, eating the nectar from the red flowers of the impatiens.

IMG_3065.JPG

I was mistaken. This guy was actually eating the colorful flowers.

IMG_3077.JPG

After tearing away a small piece of the pedal he would proceed to munch away until the pedal had been totally consumed.

IMG_3083.JPG

I observed this for several minutes, intrigued by his choice of food. This was the first time I had seen this behavior.

I was sure he was consuming the pedal that was in its beak
because it would disappear from sight
without a morsel ever hitting the ground.

IMG_3084.JPG

After the Downy downed each piece he had torn from the flower of the impatiens he would head right back for another snack.

IMG_3092.JPG

No matter how often I see this wonderful winged creature I'm captivated by its acrobatic display, many times hanging upside down while contemplating its next move.

The #featheredfriends community run by @nelinoeva, @melinda010100, and @barbara-orenya has turned me into a #birdwatcher of the first degree. Thanks, ladies for making my life a little richer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency