Do you know your Pica Pica from your Magpie

Hello Hello fans of the feathered friends

It seems that we are marching into March and potentially into Spring!

However, before I get out and about for Spring I want to share with you some pictures of one of my favourite birds.

Because, you know, sharing is caring!

This is my post for the wonderful @nelinoeva inspired Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 107

This week is a CORVIDAE theme week.

Corvidae, the family of birds also known as Corvids or Crow family, represented by crows, ravens, rooks, jays, jackdaws, magpies, nutcrackers, treepies, choughs.

I do like Corvidae I cannot lie and often share pictures of jackdaws ravens rooks and crows.

Today however, it is all about Magpies!

They often get a bad rap!

Magpies, they are nothing but thieves I hear you say!

I have been fascinated them since I was a bairn!

Maybe it is because I am drawn to shiny things as well!

I will share some fun facts about magpies as we saunter through this post...

These fun facts will be taken from the RSPB site

Magpies usually breed from two years old, although some may breed at one year. They build large, domed nests in thorny bushes or high up in tall trees.

One reason that I may like the magpies so much is that magpies seem to be jacks of all trades 🤣

They are scavengers, predators and pest-destroyers and their challenging, almost arrogant attitude has won them few friends.

I just love the long tail that they have.

We think of them as being only black and white.

Did you know the Scientific name for the Magie is Pica pica

But when you look at them close-up their black plumage takes on an altogether more colourful hue with a purplish-blue iridescent sheen to the wing feathers and a green gloss to the tail.

I think of them as black and white with a touch of blue!

That was so close to being my favourite shot, but of course when I got the zoom in shot them bam shot was gone :(

I feed these particular Magpies at my local park Beveridge Park

More food that Hive pays for!

So thanks to everyone that supports my posts, you are also supporting the birds!

I think the original post from Neli is to have a picture of one bird, so I shall put that shot above as the picture to be entered for the contest ☝️☝️☝️ I love how we can see the sheen clearly!

Do you remember my wing shot that was screwed up, can you guess what my attention was on?

See below ....

How fluffing cute is Sammy the Squirrel!

So you can see why my attention wandered for a minute!

My last picture is appropriate and one to leave you with as we part waves on this post!

I hope you enjoyed reading and seeing some Magpie information courtesy of myself and the RSPB

© The Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB) is a registered charity: England and Wales no. 207076, Scotland no. SC037654:)

I am a member of the RSPB, something else that Hive pays for, do you have a favourite bird or animal charity?

silver_divider_logo.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman @TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated.

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!
@tengolotodo
2nd March 2023

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency