Birds of South Africa.

1 (2).jpg

This post is as an entry into #showmeaphoto contest #80 #Smap tirelessly and gratefully run by @nelinoeva as with so many on hive. It is also to show a tiny smidgen of the natural beauty and wildlife that we are blessed with in South Africa in the skies, on land and in the sea.

3 (2).jpg

The theme for this week is "show me a pic of your favourite bird". Ai Neli, that is as bad as asking me which of my older two sisters I love the most?......either way I answer I know I will be dead the next morning lol.
As I have mentioned in previous blog, I have a huge love for all animals so naturally birds fall into that spectrum although I don't regard myself as an avid "twitcher" but feel that I have a reasonable personal sighting count of species.

4 (2).jpg

Okay, to whittle it down a bit I suppose my favourites lie in the raptor family. From there it is a lotto lol.

5.jpg
Soooo, I will be forced to pick the Steppe Buzzard based on the following even though I love so many......

7.jpg

Many that I love are only seen on seldom done long trips into other areas/ provinces of South Africa whereas the Steppe Buzzard is quite often seen in the surrounding areas of where I live.

6.jpg
The photo above is my entry into round 80 of #Showmeaphoto.

As said earlier about having to choose between my sisters @nelinoeva, dam you for making me choose between these few photos lol but once again, thanks so much for what you tirelessly do for this community and much love for it.

All the photos used were taken by myself recently while doing a building contract away from home in a small town called Darling in a farming community on the West Coast of South Africa

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency