The bird I miss the most

Bird watching has been my hobby for years. However, due to various reasons I haven't been able to watch birds as I did before. The main reason of course is that the place where I live doesn't have too many trees. The trees that are there are the ones my friends and I planted after moving to this neighbourhood some five years ago. These trees have been cut, mutilated and even pulled out by the powers that be. These are reasons enough for my inability to watch birds in an otherwise congested city.

One of the birds that I used to hear more than see and I truly miss is the Coppersmith barbet. These tiny birds are smaller than sparrows, I should say much smaller while they are slightly bigger than the sun birds.

The Coppersmith barbets of the Indian subcontinent have green plumage, black heads, scarlet foreheads and breast. Their throats are whitish to yellowish depending on their maturity. The stomach and underparts of these birds fare usually pale yellow with grayish streaks. The juvenile birds lack the red spots on the head and the breast. These little guys keep pecking at the trunk of trees to build their nests like the hoopoe and the woodpecker.

It's their call that usually gets your attention, finding them amidst in lush leaves is rather difficult. These tiny birds make a tuk, tuk , tuk noise which sounds like a metal being hit with a hammer. It is said that this sounds like a copper smith at work, though I have never seen or heard one at work.

There was a huge sacred banyan tree or the Ficus Benghalensis behind our home where we lived earlier. In mid March when these huge trees bear millions of tiny fruits a wide variety of birds used to hang out there, but for the Coppersmith barbet this tree used to be home. Yet, I have barely spotted them a dozen times in a span of twelve years although I heard them tuck-tucking away everyday.

The only reason I managed to spot these birds is because of their scarlet heads, and the scarlet streak on their breasts. These colorful birds are often found eating the tiny figs from the sacred banyan, but they also feed or worms and small insects.

I have managed to take photos of these birds just a couple of times, because of their size, the effective camouflage among the verdant leaves of the sacred ficus tree and also because these seem as shy as the golden oriole.

During my walks in the parks I often keep listening for the sounds of these birds, I should say I haven't heard them in a long time, let alone spotting them. I ardently wish and hope to see them this season, I am keeping my fingers crossed and wishing upon my lucky stars.

I used to think of this bird as my good luck charm years ago. I don't believe in luck really, nonetheless I am just so happy to spot these birds and the day I see them becomes my special day.

Is there any bird/s you miss? Tell me in the comment section, I would be glad to know.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency