Meet The Fishers

Here is a bit of an early #featheredfriday as I just got photos of two birds in action catching a fish.


The first sighting was this little black crowned night heron.


Fortunately right as I got in camera range it started hunting. This is a bit of an awkward angle pretty hilarious looking as it aims towards a fish.


Splash! It dove into the water within a few seconds of me arriving. Usually I have to wait quite a while for them to spot something to dive in for.


Also luckily it actually caught something. Many times I see them lunge and then they reemerge with nothing.


It appears to have caught a bluegill. Now it has to get up on higher ground to finally gulp down its catch.


It tried climbing on this floating piece of wooden debris in the lake and ended up slipping off the edge lol. Fortunately it didn't end up losing the fish.


Instead it had to walk to shallower water to finally gulp down the fish. I've been seeing this guy around almost every evening maybe it got used to me walking around and wasn't afraid of letting me watch it hunt.


Just around the corner I noticed a great egret looking pretty hilarious from this angle. It kind of resembles a musical note.


I crashed around in the bushes as quietly as possible to get a better angle of it fishing. Right when I moved into place it had spotted something.


Splash right into the plants and algae.


Another successful catch. I think it is using the plants as better camouflage and the poor fish didn't even know what hit him before it was gulped down.

What luck finding two successful catches within the span of five minutes. Usually this would take at least 15 minutes to watch and wait for them to finally catch something.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency