Feathered Friday - Tricky Juvenile Birds

Here are a few birds I've spotted before the summer solstice for #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p7093614_copy.jpg
Here is a somewhat mysterious juvenile bird of some sort. It let me get pretty close and I can tell it isn't fully filled out with feathers.

p7093613_copy.jpg
It is also rather large so I'm guessing this might be a juvenile female meadow lark as I can see a hint of yellow on its throat.

p7093608_copy.jpg
Here is another mystery bird. I'm guessing it is a warbler of some sort. It kind of resembles a pine warbler but it is much too large and the beak is too thick to be one. I also guessed a palm warbler but they have a bit of pattern on their breast with a reddish brown cap. This guy was about the size of a yellow-rumped warbler maybe I caught one with bright colors or mid transition.

p7043549_copy.jpg
Here is a female red-winged blackbird in the prairie grasses gathering nest material.

p7093658_copy.jpg
I know this one very well, a blue gray gnat catcher. These are very tiny little birds barely larger than a hummingbird.

p7093676_copy.jpg
I spotted a fledgling sparrow as well still begging for food from the parents and learning how to take dust baths.

p7093652_copy.jpg
Here is another sparrow gathering nesting material, probably for a second brood of chicks.

p7093631_copy.jpg
Next I saw some kingbirds in an evergreen tree.
p7093645_copy.jpg
At first I thought they were Eastern Phoebes but then noticed the white edges on the tail feathers.
p7093639_copy.jpg
The beak shape of Eastern Kingbirds is also thicker than Phoebes. These guys are good to have around to eat all the pesky insects.

That's all :-) Happy #featheredfriday

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency