Feathered Friday - Heron that Barks Like a Dog

Here are a couple heron sightings by the lake for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p7221714_copy.jpg
Here is the first heron sighting, a black crowned night heron.

p7221711_copy.jpg
He started getting suspicious as I circled around for a closer shot.

p7221721_copy.jpg
I slowly approached from the bank behind him to try and get a shot through the reeds.

p7221725_copy.jpg
Then off he went into the air letting out loud barks that sounded just like a dog.

p7221723_copy.jpg
He sounded really mad and kept barking until he landed across the lake.

Here's what it sounded like but much louder in real life. Poor guy was mad I cleared him out of his favorite fishing spot.

p7221697_copy.jpg
Meanwhile across the lake I stopped to take a picture of a baby wood duck and barely noticed this guy on one of the floating islands.

p7221703_copy.jpg
At first I thought it might be an American Bittern but his size was too small and coloring was too bold.

p7221701_copy.jpg
Turns out its a green heron. He was really chill and stayed there the whole time with me just a few feet away, no dog barks out of this guy.

p7221709_copy.jpg
Meanwhile the baby wood duck noticed me.

p7221708_copy.jpg
And right as I started taking pictures he started skittering away. They are very shy ducks compared to mallards.

p7221728_copy.jpg
The red-winged black birds are starting to grow up. Here's a juvenile male with tiny little red feathers starting to form. Sadly this year I didn't get any shots of them emerging from their nests.

That's all for this #featheredfriday :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency