Feathered Friday - Hawk Taffy

Here is a red tailed hawk for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p1174026_copy.jpg
I went out for a #wednesdaywalk when it was cold out thinking I would only see snow out in a forest preserve. But I managed to spot this red tailed hawk, luckily I brought my zoom lens.

p1173990_copy.jpg
I first spotted the hawk on a pile of cleared invasive trees. This gives the hawk a lookout of the open fields for hunting.

p1173999_copy.jpg
Off in the distance the tree workers were poisoning invasive plants. I'm sure this disturbed the voles and other rodents in the field and they scurried out in the open for the hawk to see.

p1173991_copy.jpg
The hawk spotted a vole and dive bombed it successfully.

p1173997_copy.jpg
Now it brought up its prey into a dead tree to finish eating it.

p1174006_copy.jpg
Meanwhile during this process I was slowly walking closer and closer to the hawk for better photos. Here you can see a little vole foot hanging off the side.

p1174008_copy.jpg
The hawk probably thought I was a tree worker and didn't care that I was there.

p1174009_copy.jpg
Here is the hawk taffy. He really was stretching the poor vole apart lol.

p1174014_copy.jpg
Ooops the hawk has made a mistake. The tree it was eating the vole on was hollow in the center and half his vole has fallen down in the hole.

p1174019_copy.jpg
Poor hawk is wondering how it can get the vole out of the tree. Now some starling will be able to feast on the rest of it as they are probably the ones that live in the hole in the side of the tree.

p1174024_copy.jpg
Now the hawk is embarrassed to see me and is muttering curse words in hawk language. Great now the human will post my mistake all over the internet.

p1174029_copy.jpg
I'm outta here, dang paparazzis. The hawk landed off on another tree pile waiting for more voles to be scared out into the open.

That's all for now, wish the hawk success on finding better feeding platforms lol.

Happy #featheredfriday

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency