Feathered Friday - Four Bird Species

Here are four different birds for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p6166674_copy
The first bird is a red-winged blackbird right in the process of dive bombing me. Their chicks have emerged from the nest and they are extra aggressive right now.

p6166693_copy
Even the female red-winged black birds get in on the aerial attacks. They mostly just hover above your head making growling and shrieking noises.

p6216838_copy
The poor males have to pant in the hot summer as they absorb all the sunrays making them hot.

p6196800_copy
As I was walking around the prairie I heard the familiar song of an eastern towhee.

p6196803_copy
I tried to get him to get out from the dark shadow of the branch he was sitting on, but he wouldn't budge no matter how much I tried imitating his call.

p6196804_copy
It must have been nice for him to get the shade blocking his red eye as he called for a mate in these branches.

p6196780_copy
Later on I heard a complex little call and looked for a long time in the leaves and finally spotted this yellow warbler.

p6196778_copy
Fortunately this one stayed put for a few shots. Usually I only catch glimpses of them flitting through the trees and can never located them for a focused shot.

p6196779_copy
Here it is belting out its complex song.

Here is a clip of its song for reference.

p6196791_copy
The next little guy I spotted by chance because it wasn't make any noise and was sitting still on a branch right above my head.

p6196792_copy
I'm pretty sure this is a pine warbler and it stayed in a small area and didn't seem to mind me being around.

p6196794_copy
Quite the good little poser. I didn't get to hear it sing but it posed in perfect lighting for many clear shots.

That's all for now, hopefully I'll see some more interesting birds for next week. Happy #featheredfriday :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency