Feathered Friday - Aerial Battle

Here is an aerial battle and some other birds for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p7271812_copy.jpg
I spotted a large red tailed hawk sitting peacefully on a dead tree.

p7271813_copy.jpg
Then suddenly he let out a loud scream and started flying.

p7271814_copy.jpg
At first I thought I somehow scared him off the tree by trying to get a closer shot.

p7271816_copy.jpg
Then as he flew behind some leaves I noticed a little attack helicopter.

p7271817_copy.jpg
Once out on the other side of the leaves the little attack bird was already on his back.

p7271817_copy_2.jpg
I tried getting shots of the bird riding on his back but my camera was too slow in writing files. This is the only shot you can see the little beak ready to peck the head of the huge raptor.

p7271803_copy.jpg
Meanwhile at the swamp there were many birds trying to cool off in the summer heat. When I took this photo I thought there was only the great blue heron, but now that I look closer there are all kinds of ducks and geese and possibly some grebes or coots.

p7271771_copy.jpg
Most of the birds were panting from the summer heat like this little waxwing.

p7271768_copy.jpg
The bluebird seemed fine in the heat, perhaps this might have been the little beak that was trying to peck the red tail.

p7271823_copy.jpg
There were quite a few goldfinches out and this guy even stayed still long enough for a few photos.

p7271827_copy.jpg
I caught him at the right place where the setting sunlight was to my back lighting him up perfectly. Usually I end up on the wrong side of the bird and only see a silhouette.

That's all for this #featherdfriday :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency