Wildlife : Birdwatching - 1572 šŸ¦

šŸ¦‰ The common starling or European starling (Sturnus vulgaris)

šŸ“š Sturnus lat.: sturnus starling, sturninus speckled, spotted
šŸ“š vulgaris (lat.) well-known, ordinary

It would seem that it is just a starling, but in my city this bird is rare. I see them in the spring, when the snow has just melted and it is already warm. They arrive from warm countries and stop here for a short time to rest.

Most often, of course, they are on the ground, in search of worms or caterpillars of which they love to eat.

But in the summer, these birds seem to be absent. Only occasionally do I meet them in the meadows in a small flock, most likely a family one, consisting of 3-4 birds. But one day I still managed to take a photo of a young starling in my favorite forest.

CameraLens
Nikon D5200Tamron SP AF 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency