Wildlife : Birdwatching - 1156 ๐Ÿฆ

dsc_5929_1.jpg

๐Ÿฆ‰ The pine bunting (Emberiza leucocephalos)

๐Ÿ“š Emberiza embritz (Old German) bunting
๐Ÿ“š leucocephalos Greek: leukos white, kephalฤ“ head

dsc_5933_1.jpg

I have met this bird only once. And our meeting took place in tall bushes, practically near the reeds. This area is located in a meadow near the river bank, and moving a little further away you can find a wooded area. As soon as I approached the thicket, a yellowhammer flew at me. Surprisingly, this male was not afraid of me and chased me away. I did not bother him and went on.
A week later, I passed the same place and saw this bird already.

I have already written more than once that a hybrid of this pine bunting and yellowhammer lives not far from here. Obviously, in these places, natural hybridization of birds is not such a rare phenomenon. In addition, I learned from an ornithologist that these two species of birds can roam and winter together in warm regions of the country.

dsc_5922_1.jpg

456.png



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency