Show Me A Photo Contest Round 84 - Free Theme

So, a new stage of the competition from @nelinoeva , for which I thank her
And this week's theme is - Free Theme.

Therefore, I decided to show you sandpipers / waders, or rather birds of the order - Charadriiformes.
Their main feature is life near water.


The little ringed plover (Charadrius dubius)

A small nimble that moves in short dashes over sand or rocks.


The wood sandpiper (Tringa glareola)

I saw this long-legged sandpiper on a drying lake. He walked in shallow water in search of small fish and insects.


The common sandpiper (Actitis hypoleucos)

And this squeaky sandpiper sat on a stump and shouted. It was in the spring, during the mating season.

The little stint (Calidris minuta) (or Erolia minuta)

I met a small flock of these shorties in early October, far outside the city. They quickly roamed the pebbles in search of the remaining aquatic insects. After all, they had a long way to warm countries.


The common greenshank (Tringa nebularia)

I rarely see these guys. It was at the place where a small river flows into a large one that flows throughout the region. These three birds were walking and looking for food. And how cowardly they are! As soon as they saw me, they immediately flew away. I had to get pretty dirty, I lay down on the mud that was in the reeds to take a couple of photos.


The common redshank or simply redshank (Tringa totanus)

These guys stood knee-deep in the cold (!) water of the lake near the pine forest. They were just resting from a long flight. Cleaned feathers, slept.


The green sandpiper (Tringa ochropus)

And again we return to the drying lake. This place is sometimes visited by these guys. It's amazing that they can be in the company of other sandpiper species.


The ruff (Calidris pugnax)

I saw a flock of these birds on a large river flowing along the city. I had to work hard to get close to them. The river at the end of September shallows and exposes stones. And I jumped from stone to stone to get to the stones where these birds rested.

CameraLens
Nikon D5200Tamron SP AF 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency