Late Wednesday Walk Around My Boreal Forest Home...

The temperatures remain bitterly cold so I haven't gone very far for my walks mostly staying around my yard and down to the shop. But there was no need to go far for I am surrounded with large evergreens and a multitude of birds which bring me much delight!

The prominent birds are the bluejays with flocks of up to a dozen some times and you hear their calls echoing through the trees.

Close Up Bluejay Head Thrown Back Calling

close up bluejay head up calling.JPG

Listen in to a flock of bluejays calling from the popular tree...

Bluejay Watching Me From Snowy Pine Tree

Bluejay sitting by snow on spruce tree.JPG

The redpolls seem to move in flocks and they would move together from the trees to the feeders and they didn't seem to be to afraid of me so I could get quite close to them.

Close Up Redpoll Head Tilted Checking Me Out

close up redpoll sitting on branch head tilted.JPG

I had seen a few times the redpolls on clumps of snow and they would be pecking at it. There didn't seem to be any seeds they were pecking at perhaps they just wanted the moisture of the snow.

Close Up Redpoll Pecking at Snow

close up of redpoll on clump of snow.JPG

Along with the redpolls there were the chickadees who too were not afraid of me so I could get some great close ups.

Close Up Chickadee Eating Seed on Branch

close up chickadee eating seed.JPG

The white breasted nuthatch wasn't around as regularly but you always know when they were around by their peeping as they move around from trees to feeder.

Luckily I have a powerful zoom on my camera so I could catch this little guy sitting in the sun on a distant tree - he's a cutie!

Close Up White Breasted Nuthatch Sitting in the Sun

close up white breasted nuthatch on branch.JPG

This is my entry for the Show Me A Photo Contest Round 56 with a theme of unusual birds details here. I thought this guy from the front view all puffed up was quite unique.

Cute Little Nuthatch Puffed Up Sitting in the Sun

close up front view white breasted nuthatch.JPG

Bruno, who just turned ten this month, loves to be out on the walks with me running in the snow.

Bruno Running Down the Snow Bank

Bruno running down snow bank.JPG

We've had quite a bit of snow this year as you can see by the snow accumulated by the well house.

Sun Shining on the Snow Drifts by the Well House

sun shining on snow banks by well house.JPG

That's all I have for you this week - next post should be from longer walks as the weather is suppose to warm up then.

This is my #WednesdayWalk (done on Friday) hosted by @tattoodjay go check out his latest post here. He collaborates with @elizacheng and her #MakeMeSmile initiative see her latest post here

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Discord II Community**

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency