First Sugarbird couple of the season.

401.JPG

Our winter has started and the Protea bushes in nature are preparing to bloom.

We joined our local nature reserve as members and followed our first trail up the mountain side with spectacular results that I will show you over the next few days.
It was early morning and the sun peeped sharply over the mountain peak.

This beauty is called a Cape Sugarbird (Promerops cafer) and they are endemic to the Western Cape Province of South Africa.
429.JPG

A real showboat isn't he with that long tail.
444.JPG

And here is his missus, madame Sugarbird and her tail is not as long. She sat on the lower Protea bush branches while her husband was parading at the top for my camera.
757.JPG

But then she also flew to the top of a second bush to model for me.
791.JPG

Finally to end the show here is a Cape Bulbul (Pycnonotus capensis) eyeballing me. They are also endemic to the Cape.
351.JPG

So yes, the trail was a bit strenuous, but just what I needed. The knee was troublesome at stages, but we were alone, so I could often rest it. The scenery was mind blowing with the mountains at the east and the ocean at the west.
I will post this in #amazingnature when I get a chance, as we are struggling with the Internet signal disappearing again.
We have the cheapest Internet package and it's a real headache at times.

And That's All Friends.

Note: All photos are my own and taken at a distance of 45 yards. Camera used is a Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
59 Comments
Ecency