A beautiful Friday variety.

Some beautiful Southern African birds that I snapped today on a farm.
057.jpg

I have a few shots of one of my favorites, the Malachite Sunbird, a Jackal Buzzard and a King of sixes. Oh, and a v-formation of high flying Sacred Ibis birds.

We had a clear day with some sunshine for a change and I had 1 hour to take photos in between the meetings. So we popped in on a local wine farm and I got lucky.
This is a special variety of birds that are local residents in our country. There are many others, but I have posted many bird posts and I am sure that I have posted many species.

By now you know the Jackal Buzzard (Buteo rufofuscus) and this brown color means that he might be a juvenile.
012.jpg

Here is the famous "King of Sixes", so called for his many wives by the locals, official name is Pin-Tailed Whydah (Vidua macroura)
028.jpg

The following 2 photos are of the Malachite Sunbird (Nectarinia famosa)
040.jpg

049.jpg

Finally we had a V-formation of the Sacred Ibis family (Threskiornis aethiopicus)
068.jpg

All of these birds do not migrate to warmer countries during the winter, as they are endemic to South Africa. The Aussies also have these Sacred Ibis birds, but there is an argument at present about the identity of the two species.
Nature is my sanity haven and I pull at the tethers every day to go and meet with mother nature, even if it is just a short visit.
Such is my life.

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reseved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
47 Comments
Ecency