Walking and birds spotting Week 30

Hello feathered friends.

This is week 30 of my weekly walking and bird spotting diary. Another week of extremely hot and dry weather. I tried to spend most of my time near the water. I walked or cycled exclusively in the morning and evening, avoiding direct sunlight. Fortunately, the birds followed the same rhythm. It was then that I managed to notice them in large numbers. I mostly visited the usual places, without exploring new ones.

For this week, I have documented 31 different bird species, of which one is new.

African stonechat

This week I noticed them in larger groups or individually. I also noticed that there are some deep in the field off the roads.

african_stonechat.jpg

Barn swallow

Nothing has changed in their behavior. They still spend most of their time in flight. And their favorite place to rest is, of course, the transmission line wire.

barn_swallow.jpg

Black redstart

I see them in my backyard every day. I still haven't found their nests, but they must have settled in one of the buildings.

black_redstart.jpg

Black-crowned night heron

At the moment, I only see juveniles in a couple of locations. Unlike adult birds, they are active during the day.

black_crowned_night_heron.jpg

Common blackbird

In this dry period, even a small amount of water is a significant oasis, especially for young and inexperienced birds like this.

common_blackbird.jpg

Common buzzard

I only notice them from a distance as they move away from me. I've been finding them in just one location for a couple of weeks now.

common_buzzard.jpg

Common cuckoo

I rarely notice them, but they are still present in large numbers. It is impossible not to hear their specific call from time to time.

common_cuckoo.jpg

Common gull

They gather again in large flocks. Although they are most often near water, I often meet them in the field.

common_gull.jpg

Common house martin

The common house martin is a new bird species that I haven't seen here. I've noticed a group of these birds circling around the pond.

common_house_martin.jpg

Common kestrel

It is simply impossible not to notice at least one of these birds along the way as he observes the surroundings from the transmission line.

common_kestrel.jpg

Common moorhen

It is a common bird of stagnant water like a pond. They are currently occupied with caring for young birds.

common_moorhen.jpg

Common starling

They represent the biggest wanderers at the moment. They are constantly on the move and in another location in search of juicy fruits.

common_starling.jpg

Eurasian collared dove

I see them almost everywhere. They are mostly in pairs, and sometimes a lone bird can be seen on a tree or power line.

dove.jpg

European goldfinch

It is a common bird that is still found exclusively outside or around the perimeter of populated areas.

european_goldfinch.jpg

European greenfinch

Another species of bird that I usually only hear and rarely see. Luckily this time she was in my line of sight at the top of the tree.

european_greenfinch.jpg

Great grey heron

He still won't let me get close enough. I will definitely have to hide one day near the location he visits often.

great_grey_heron.jpg

Hoopoe

This species of bird is slowly but surely approaching the settlement. During the spring, I only saw them a few kilometers away from the settlement, while I currently see them in my street.

hoopoe.jpg

House sparrow

The most numerous bird that can be seen everywhere. It is related to humans and most of them are in populated areas. Sometimes they can be noticed near populated places as they search the environment for food.

house_sparrow.jpg

Lesser gray shrike

Sometimes I meet them and sometimes I don’t. I mostly see them near the road between the two settlements.

lesser_gray_shrike.jpg

Little egret

Unlike the great white egret that I often saw during the winter months, I see this one more during the summer. It is a common bird of marsh habitats and can be seen near ponds and canals.

little_egret.jpg

Little grebe

Only one bird can be seen fishing in the canal. I see her exclusively in the same place.

little_grebe.jpg

Magpie

A tired and thirsty magpie is waiting on the roof for me to pour her water.

magpie.jpg

Red-baked shrike

It shares the same space as the African stonechat. It is also slowly moving deeper into the field off the roads.

red_backed_shrike.jpg

Rock pigeon

During a hot day, the most important thing is to find any source of water. A puddle formed near a car wash can certainly serve.

rock_pigeon.jpg

Rook

Like starlings, they just circle and change locations.

rook.jpg

Squacco heron

This week I was lucky enough to attend and document various birds fishing. Unlike the gull that swallowed the fish immediately, the squacco heron flew to a nearby tree after a successful hunt.

squacco_heron.jpg

Tree sparrow

They moved away from the settlement again. Now I usually see them nearby in dense vegetation, bushes, and trees.

tree_sparrow.jpg

Western yellow wagtail

I noticed them from a distance deep in the field. As soon as I tried to get closer, they flew away from me.

western_yellow_wagtail.jpg

White wagtail

Unlike the western yellow wagtail, I see this species only near water.

white_wagtail.jpg

Wood pigeon

It's the mating season again because couples are being seen more and more often.

wood_pigeon.jpg

Woodpecker

Although I see them occasionally, I think there are a lot fewer of them than in the previous period.

woodpecker.jpg

Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency