Walking and birds spotting Week 03

Hello feathered friends.

This is week 03 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from January 14 to January 21. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in. This time it was very difficult to choose photos considering the number of birds. In order not to divide the post into two parts, I'll choose only some of them for this weekly post.

The weather during this period of time was changeable. From cold days to relatively warm. As well as the temperature, gloomy and sunny days alternated. Snowy, rainy, and sometimes without precipitation.

I spent most of my time taking photos outside the settlement, sometimes crossing over 20km a day. This week, in addition to the usual routes, I also explored new ones.

As usual, I'll start with the most common and most numerous birds.

Sparrows

I saw only tree sparrows this week in the usual places, in dense bushy vegetation, and on powerlines.

sparrows_02.jpg

sparrows_04.jpg

Rooks

From large flocks, smaller groups begin to form, and individual birds are seen more often.

rooks_02.jpg

I also managed to see a leucistic rook. So far, I have not had the opportunity to notice such specimens in my environment. This happens when the bird has the absence of melanin in plumage.

rook_leusistic_01.jpg

Pigeons

There aren't as many wild pigeons as this summer, but luckily there are a few breeders, so they let the bred pigeons fly from time to time.

pigeon_01.jpg

pigeons_02.jpg

Magpies

For some reason, some magpies become less alert and allow me to get closer to them. Since they are very intelligent, they have certainly concluded that I do not pose a threat to them.

magpie_03.jpg

magpie_04.jpg

Collared doves

Most of them can be found on powerlines. That's their favorite place.

dove_01.jpg

dove_02.jpg

Hooded crow

I attended an interesting duel between a common buzzard and a hooded crow. I'll talk about that in a future post.

buzzard_05.jpg

Long-eared owls

I found new smaller trees where they rest and where I can take better pictures of them.

long_eared_owl_01.jpg

long_eared_owl_02.jpg

long_eared_owl_07.jpg

owl

I haven't seen other owls in a long time, only long-eared owls. So I was surprised when I noticed this one on the chimney. At first, I thought it was a common kestrel. But I haven't seen them around this week.

owl_02.jpg

owl_03.jpg

Eurasian sparrowhawk

Although I did not see common kestrels, I noticed a new bird of prey, the Eurasian sparrowhawk. I've probably seen this bird before, but from a distance, and I probably thought that it is a common kestrel because they are very similar.

eurasian_sparrowhawk_02.jpg

eurasian_sparrowhawk_03.jpg

Common buzzard

I am slowly managing to get closer to them, but I am still not happy with the distance between us. I hope that I will be able to get closer to at least another 50 meters.

buzzard_02.jpg

buzzard_03.jpg

buzzard_06.jpg

Great gray heron

It seems that, as with wild ducks, herons do not have nerves and blood vessels in their legs because I saw them walking on ice.

I would also like to be able to get closer to them.

gray_heron_01.jpg

gray_heron_02.jpg

Great white heron

white_heron_01.jpg

white_heron_02.jpg

Black redstart

I found two places where they are always located. Although they look sullen, they are quite lively birds.

black_redstart_02.jpg

black_redstart_05.jpg

black_redstart_06.jpg

Goldfinches

Their numbers seem to be increasing as I have started to find them in and around the place where I live.

goldfinch_02.jpg

goldfinch_03.jpg

Great tit

Another new bird on the list. I saw it this summer in a park in a nearby place. I assume there were some here too, but we haven’t met so far.

great_tit_01.jpg

great_tit_02.jpg

Jackdaw

Like rooks, they gradually separate from large flocks and can be seen in trees or in the field.

jackdaw_01.jpg

jackdaw_02.jpg

I hope you enjoyed walking with me and the birds.

Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency