Walking and birds spotting Week 08

Hello feathered friends.

This is week 08 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from February 18 to February 25. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in.

The weather during this period was proper spring. Sunny and warm days, mostly windless. It was again a very productive week.

The number of certain bird species is decreasing. There is a markedly smaller number of rooks, jackdaws, and long-eared owls. On the other hand, new species are emerging. In the coming period, I expect a large influx of migratory birds.

I hope to see and photograph them in my walks.

This week I have documented 19 different bird species.

Tree sparrows

Although they are mostly found in large groups outside the settlement, they can also be seen on low trees and bushes near houses. We meet every day in various places.



House sparrows

I'm not sure if they managed to break through the wall and make a nest in the hole, or they just found it, but they definitely became the occupants of that building.



Rooks

They are significantly less in numbers. There are no more huge flocks, only smaller groups and individually.



Pigeons

Yesterday I stumbled upon this pigeon feeding with popcorns. For a moment, he seemed hesitant in choosing popcorn but soon began to eat everything.



Magpies

Their favorite place is the top of a tree from which they can be moved only by the sight of food or imminent danger.



Collared doves

Just follow the transmission line, and you will find one. 😁



Hooded crow

I only saw one hooded crow fly over the field once this week.

hooded_crow_01_2_.jpg

Eurasian jackdaw

It's the same thing with jackdaws. I saw it only once, from the distance, on the top of the tree.

jackdaw_01_2_.jpg

Long-eared owls

There are fewer and fewer of them on the trees where I regularly find them. Only a few owls sleep during the day.



Common buzzard

I came across them several times while they were stalking their prey in flight. I haven't had a chance to see them anywhere but in the air.



Common kestrel

The duo on the tree hunted together. Another pair of eyes seems to come in handy. It is a rare sight to see them on earth but not impossible.



Eurasian goldfinch

These birds simply adore the top of this plane tree. They gossip about others unhindered, hidden from view.



Woodpecker

These are actually two different woodpeckers sharing the same tree in search of food.



Great tit

Although I hear them every day, I only managed to take a photo on one occasion. And I see them most often when I don't have a camera with me.

great_tit_2_.jpg

Goldcrest kinglet

To my surprise, they are quite numerous. Although I can easily find them because they are mostly in the usual places, it is very difficult to photograph them because they are unstoppable in search of food.

kinglet_03_2_.jpg


Great gray heron

I didn't have to go to the canal because I noticed him by the lake. Of course, he also noticed me and flew away.



White great heron

The almost identical situation happened with the great white heron.



Starling

This starling enjoyed a beautiful sunny day at the top of the tree. He paid no attention to my presence at all.



Common linnet

Another new bird species that I am adding to the list. I found a small group of these birds in a vineyard outside the settlement. So far, I have not noticed them in the area. I'll look for them again next week.



Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency